Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Differences between cpu Harvard and cpu Von Neumman

Status
Not open for further replies.

LOKELE

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,
Since I'm still at high school (first year), I started studying "Computer organization and architecture" book by William Stalling on my own.

Will that book help me learn Microcontroller Risc Harvard architecture ? I know that there are differences between mcu and computer architecture, for example von neumann vs harvard, memory external located (computer),peripherals and so on, but when the book talks about MBR, MAR, is that theory applicable to mcu?
Does MBR and MAR exist on mcu ?

My main goal is to understand how the instructions are decoded on harvard architecture.

The Computer desktop has Von Neumman and many books talks about that architecture.
I know that books are important for the beginner but many mcu datasheet take for granted that you knows the harvard architecture and don't explain how it really works ,

so I dont know what really differences there are between mcu's CPU and computer desktop cpu

Does you know a book that talk about harvard architecture in deep ?
sry for bad english
Thank

Hi,

My personal opinion:
It's not that complicated. I see no need for a whole book to explain the differences.
The most important difference is the memory interface...

But then you speak about decoding of the instructions.
For sure decoding will differ on architecture...but it will differ on a lot of other parameters.
That means there are different decoding schemes on the same architecture.