Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Difference of resonant frequency between theory and simulation

Status
Not open for further replies.

desert_eagle

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all members! I'm a newbie in antenna design. I have a question hope every one help.

I'm designing a rectangular patch antenna. I used formulas in book Antenna Theory: Analysis and Design of Balanis. But when i simulate by using CST transient solver, the resonant frequency is quite different from the theory. Theory is 3.5 GHz and result of simulation is 3.36 GHz. I'm use FR-4 lossy for substrate. So i want to ask everyone why have a difference between theory and simulation in CST???
Thank you very much!

As a simulator executes each frame, it does so by stepping forward a small amount of time (a time-step).

The larger the time-step, the more 'coarse' the simulator results are. The more simulation departs from reality.

There is always some error in the simulation, because it is impractical to make the time-steps infinitely small.

The difference between 3.5 and 3.36 is only 4.17 percent.
See if it makes much difference when you change the time step.

Also as a secondary influence, change ohmic resistances in components.

Thank you for your help! But could you show me how can i change the time step in CST studio? I usually use default setting in transient solver!

Check this out:
https://www.edaboard.com/threads/318946/
https://www.edaboard.com/threads/318299/