Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Designing dual band impedance matching network for an antenna

Status
Not open for further replies.

pragash

Advanced Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I’m a PHD student. I’m looking to design dual band filter or impedance matching network for an antenna. This impedance transformer or matching has to be lumped components. I have measured S2p file for the antenna. Can anybody let know if there is any method to use Agilent ADS to do dual band matching? So far i have come across single band matching using "impedance matching utility" and "filter design guide". I want specifically dual band matching. For example, GSM850 and GSM1900 matching design.

Before thinking to a dual-band matching network have to make the antenna to resonate at both desire frequencies.
If the antenna resonate well at both frequencies, in most cases provides good VSWR (or S11) at those frequencies, and making easier the design the matching network.
Sometimes don't even need a matching network in this situation, if the return loss is better than -10dB (VSWR 2:1).
Going directly to design a matching network for a non-resonant antenna, gives a low antenna efficiency.

Before thinking to a dual-band matching network have to make the antenna to resonate at both desire frequencies.
If the antenna resonate well at both frequencies, in most cases provides good VSWR (or S11) at those frequencies, and making easier the design the matching network.
Sometimes don't even need a matching network in this situation, if the return loss is better than -10dB (VSWR 2:1).