Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Design -vs- Layout of RF IC, which one is better?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gift4jo

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I got a excellent opportunity to work for a high frequency IC design team in a wellknown semiconductor company. But I have no experience in analog IC design. What I have done in my Master/PhD are some mask designs with Cadence and quite a lot of ASIC / SOC designs. So when the interviewer ask me about my interest position, Design, Layout or Simulation, I don't know which is more challenging and highest demanded (MORE MONEY PAID :) ) in current market. I chose layout designer as my starting position which is suggested by one of colleague before.
But some people say layout work is more suitable for girls (I am male).

So how do you think? design or layout? Which one is better for me, a PhD guy with no analog IC design experience? and why?

Please help me on this question, thank you!!!!

Layout - if you do RF you WANT for sure do your own layout of critical blocks.
Rest is time consuming slavery - by what I am not saying that anybody can do it. GOOD!!!! layout guys is hard to find. And good RF ones even harder.

But in my opinion to have Phd and go for layout is not a good idea. You should have go for design with doing your own layout

P.s. I am not a girl and do not thing layout is girly thing. I know more men who do layout. I mean good one.