Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

design idea? How to use one signal to drive 2 LEDs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ahgu

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jun 19, 2001
Messages
172
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,552
I have a signal and ground line that need to drive 2 LEDs.
One is green LED is on all the time when driven.
One is RED LED that blinks at 1Hz when driven.
Both are never on at the same time.

The signal coming can be either 12v DC(turn on the Green LED) , or 12 Square wave at 1Hz(blink the red LED), 0V will turn all LED off.

How can I design a circuit with Q, D, R,C? that let me do this?

I can also throw in a voltage reg if needed.

How long can voltage reg hold its voltage when input is switched off

thanks
ahgu
 

msmax

Full Member level 1
Joined
May 6, 2001
Messages
99
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Pays Bas
Activity points
919
There is one way how you can do this:

Use polarity switchers. If line 1 is +12V and line 2=0V then the green LED is on. If line 1=0V and line 2=+12V then the red led is on (or blinking).

You need 2 diodes to do this.
 

ntfreak

Full Member level 3
Joined
Feb 22, 2002
Messages
152
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
UK
Activity points
1,249
If you are using a micro why don't you just use a bi-colour led?

Regards

NTFreak
 

ahgu

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jun 19, 2001
Messages
172
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,552
bi-color LED needs another input

bi-color has 3 LED. I only have 2 input.


For switch polarity, I have one output from the microcontroler, How can I switch 12v/0v using Q, D, R,C? I can mudulate the 12v to a square wave very easily.

-ahgu
 

ahgu

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jun 19, 2001
Messages
172
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,552
reverse polarity would not work

reverse polarity would not work because when it is 12v, it is actually going thru a voltage reg to power some circuit after that, reverse the polarity will possibly burn the voltage reg.
 

gpoletto2

Newbie level 6
Joined
Feb 17, 2003
Messages
14
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
120
Look at the schematic attached.

You have to calculate the values of C2, R1, R2 and R3 in such a way that the transistor won't turn on until you have a steady 12V signal. (ie: it won't turn on with a pulsed signal).

When you have a 1Hz signal C1 will charge through DIODE during the positive period of the signal and discharge through Blinking LED during the 0V period of the signal, thus, making the LED blink.

Good luck!! 8) 8) 8)
 

msmax

Full Member level 1
Joined
May 6, 2001
Messages
99
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Pays Bas
Activity points
919
Hi Ahgu,

The power reg problem can be solved by adding a rectifier just before the regulator. The polarity for the reg will be always the same then.

But you still have to:
- Switch 12V on for green
- Reverse polarity for red

If you only have 1 output then it is a bit difficult.

A power reg is no capacitor, so it doesn't hold any buffer. If you need it, then you should charge a cap from your lines.
 

ntfreak

Full Member level 3
Joined
Feb 22, 2002
Messages
152
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
UK
Activity points
1,249
bicolour has two led - tricolour has three.

Regards
NTFreak
 

arturt134

Full Member level 2
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
125
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Poland
Activity points
1,006
Use 2 pieces of DS2405 (from MAXIM). It's 1Wire single I/O port, with own address each.
 

toreador

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Dec 5, 2002
Messages
15
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
España
Activity points
40
Usually, tricolor leds has got only 2 leds.
 

ntfreak

Full Member level 3
Joined
Feb 22, 2002
Messages
152
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
UK
Activity points
1,249
two led's yes, but three colour combinations

Regards
NTFreak
 

ntfreak

Full Member level 3
Joined
Feb 22, 2002
Messages
152
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
UK
Activity points
1,249
I have attached data on the bi-colour led I mean

Regards
NTFreak
 

s_a_r_a

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Jul 4, 2002
Messages
21
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
176
Bicoulor leds hav two leds inside. Infact they have three terminals: two anodes (one for each colour) and a common cathode. They allows three colours. For example if you have a bicolour led red and green, turning on both leds, you obtain the orange led. The problem of such bicolour leds is that normally the red one has an efficiency greater then the green one, so if you want the same intensity you have to use a resistance in series with the red led greater than the one used for the green led.

Best Regards

S_a_r_a
 

Encrypted

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 28, 2001
Messages
115
Helped
17
Reputation
36
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
705
Actually, a bi-color LED has two LEDs but only two leads, so you get red or green but not both. Tri-color LEDs have two LEDs and three leads so you get red, green or yellow = three colours = tri-color.

Nothing to do with the number of leads but the number of colors.

And no help to the original question :)
 

Analyzer

Full Member level 6
Joined
Nov 18, 2001
Messages
374
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,518
Hi,

If you would like to solve this with an mcu, try to use tiny mcu like attiny or pic 12c509.You can easily write a code for this.If you can not, just ring.

Analyzer.
 

btbass

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 20, 2001
Messages
1,897
Helped
438
Reputation
880
Reaction score
287
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Oberon
Activity points
12,861
Just connect one led to + that turns on with a GND signal, and ond led to GND that comes on with a + signal, then TOGGLE man! To turn them both off, ?, go fast.
 

happy123

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Apr 16, 2003
Messages
21
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
229
How long would depend on how big is your cap, and the loading.

You could use a monostable (555) to let it turn on the right LED when there is the pulse.

Think using a small PIC/AVR might be better to save some power.
 

Fragrance

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jul 26, 2002
Messages
1,191
Helped
247
Reputation
494
Reaction score
198
Trophy points
1,343
Location
East Of Earth
Activity points
8,916
Bi color led

Hi

There are two types of bi colors which produce the three color have three
legs center is common and out side are green and red the other type heve only two legs and have two color red and green this type of led can not produce the third color please visit rs component web site for detail

regards
Fragrance
 

maranaza

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 27, 2002
Messages
49
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
351
Ahgu,
If this is a quiz, than OK. If it is a question for a real circuit, than change your specification. I suppose that your micro has tristate I/Os. Connect first LED to +supply, other to -supply. Make the LED selection with the pin latch output level. Turn the LED on or off using the tristate control for the pin.

maranaza
 

penrico

Full Member level 5
Joined
Aug 28, 2001
Messages
286
Helped
27
Reputation
54
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Argentina
Activity points
2,395
Try this circuit, when a alternated signal is putted, is pass trough C1, and excited Q2, so RED led will blink at same frecuency of input.

When a DC signal is putted, it will no pass C1, so Q1 is not activated, then Q3 is on. When a blinking signal is at input, it will be rectified by D1, and will activate Q1, so Q3 will be off.

When no signal is at input, circuit is no powered, so both leds are off.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top