Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Design 220VAC to 3.3VDC, how to prevent component shock

avner_g

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am building an SMD soldering hot plate station. I got good results when prototyping this, using this guy, which is a 100x200 500W.
Since I am a novice, definitely in 220V, I wanted a hint on how to protect the components against bursts when the relay disconnects the hot pad.
I see some disturbances on the LCD on disconnections.
I thought of putting a veristor on the hot pad clamps, not sure what spec it should be (and if it is helpful).
Also, any other advice would be welcomed.
(Grounding of the hot pad is not illustrated here but is planned.)
1707840191316.png

Hi,

some recommendations:
* solid - I mean really "solid" - GND plane.
* a 100nF ceramics at every power supply pin of every IC
* no left floating inputs / IOs
* an RF filter between mains input and power supply
* an Y rated capacitor from mains_earth to your GND
* keep on safety regulations according creepage distance..
* keep all the mains circuits in a small area
* use proper pull up resistors at the I2C signals.

The heater will be resistive. I don´t expect high burst energy.
A snubber could be useful. I like varistors to keep peak voltage low.
And to keep your circuit stable when switching the heater ... mainly is a PCB layout problem.

Klaus

Thank you @KlausST for your quick replay.

I have implemented your feedback 1:1 to the best of my understanding, which means I might misunderstood something.