Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Custom Board Vs Developer Boards

Status
Not open for further replies.

skygazer

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
custom board vs

hi all..
I am new to designing embedded systems. I have been involved with designing small pcb based designs these days. I have never designed a full fledged board with the microcontroller and on-board peripherals.
Is it advisable to design a custom PIC based board or is it better to buy one of those developer boards from the market?

What are the pluses and minuses in these two approachs..

your suggestions plz..

~~skygazer

Hi Skygazer,

I have a couple of breadboard/development boxes from Parallax and an EasyPIC 2 board from MikroElectronika. However, I have used small plugin style breadboards. Lately, I have been getting small (3.8" x 2.5") boards made by ExpressPCB for some of my prototype projects. $59 US for 3 boards and I get them in 3 days! Most of the things that I build for customers are real small and fit on these size boards. I try to use them over and over again to try out designs and programs. I used to do a lot of wirewrap and point to point wiring but I'm getting really lazy in my old age (60). I think anyone that is serious about making PIC projects should get something like an EasyPIC board. They are relatively inexpensive and have both an RS232 programmer and a USB programmer right on the board. There are LEDs, switches, A/D pots, and plug in accessory boards to make your life easier. However, aside from all of that, I guess its what can you afford and what are your future plans.
HTH,

BobK

skygazer