Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Convert DC 3.6V to DC 1000V

Status
Not open for further replies.

smb

Member level 2
Joined
Sep 3, 2001
Messages
44
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
204
How can I convert a DC voltage 3.6V to DC voltage 1000V?
 

smb

Member level 2
Joined
Sep 3, 2001
Messages
44
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
204
10 μA at 1000V
 

tpetar

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
6,417
Helped
1,713
Reputation
3,456
Reaction score
1,673
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Pancevo-Belgrade, Serbia
Activity points
37,363
**broken link removed**

High+Voltage+Inverter+schematic.jpg
 

goldsmith

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Dec 14, 2010
Messages
3,981
Helped
739
Reputation
1,482
Reaction score
725
Trophy points
1,413
Location
Tehran - IRAN
Activity points
24,545
How can I convert a DC voltage 3.6V to DC voltage 1000V?
Hi
You can easily use a square wave oscillator and then use a simple cockroft walton to earn your required voltage rating .
Best Wishes
Goldsmith
 

rohitkhanna

Banned
Joined
May 1, 2012
Messages
341
Helped
76
Reputation
150
Reaction score
75
Trophy points
1,308
Location
New Delhi, India
Activity points
0
How can I convert a DC voltage 3.6V to DC voltage 1000V?

google for Royer oscillator.
The trick in these is to get a proper transformer.

Also checkout Villard multiplier, and flyback converters.

Each of these methods have their pros & cons, but it should get you started thinking/ tinkering.

cheers!

- - - Updated - - -

10 μA at 1000V

Wow. That implies a resistance of > 100MegOhm.
At that voltage, you will have to be very careful on layout & design, since there would be leakage currents through all sorts of paths of currents greater than that.
 

BradtheRad

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
14,692
Helped
2,867
Reputation
5,744
Reaction score
2,876
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Activity points
109,777
The Cockcroft-Walton multiplier is a good choice because no single component would need to carry the entire output voltage. Each is exposed only to the supply voltage.

If you use a boost converter to reach, say 200 V...

then you can apply that to a full H-bridge to turn it into AC square waves...

and apply those to a X5 multiplier.

Screenshot:



The load is 10M to bring out some ripple. It suggests 10 nF capacitors ought to be sufficient to supply relatively smooth 1kV to a 100M load.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top