Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Combining of three AC sources of 230V

Status
Not open for further replies.

deepakkumar123

Newbie level 2
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
23
Hey,

Actually, I'm trying to come with a model of combining three AC sources. In this main criteria is to synchronize all these signals to be in a loop. I don't know how exactly to do this. Can I get some hint to proceed on this concept?
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
17,281
Helped
3,914
Reputation
7,826
Reaction score
3,778
Trophy points
113
Activity points
114,707
Hi,

To me it's absolutely unclear what you talking about.

Can you post a sketch of your configuration?

What do you mean with "synchronize"? Voltage, frequency or even phase angle? Why?

Klaus
 

deepakkumar123

Newbie level 2
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
23
IMG_20170125_130536808.jpg

PFA, I'm trying to feed my load with three sources. The intelligent system(IS) needs to divide the total load( For example, assume Total amps=6A, IS must make each source 1 &2&3 to take the load 2A each to serve the final load). To achieve this, all the three sources must be in the same loop like same voltage, frequency, and phase angle. I'm not clear on how to achieve this?
 

betwixt

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
14,117
Helped
4,676
Reputation
9,366
Reaction score
4,414
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
Activity points
120,635
You can't do it, at least not without some highly complex and mega-expensive equipment.

Your only practical solution is to convert all the sources to DC, then combine them before using a single inverter to produce AC out again.

Even if you took the one source you can't adjust, the line AC, it would be impossible to synchronize a generator to it. The generator speed will vary under load so keeping the exact frequency and phase is not achievable. The PV inverter isn't difficult to sync to the line AC but it too would be impossible to sync to the generator.

Brian.
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
46,767
Helped
13,883
Reputation
28,014
Reaction score
12,521
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
272,939
Synchronizing a generator to the grid is well possible, but requires specific generator instrumentation. Small generators are usually not equipped for it. Grid tied solar inverter is more common
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
17,281
Helped
3,914
Reputation
7,826
Reaction score
3,778
Trophy points
113
Activity points
114,707
Hi,

if you need to adjust: voltage, frequency phase (and additionally source_impedance to maintain equal current) then my first question:
* Can you do this with all your three sources? I mean: Is it possible?

Klaus
 

rgkarthi

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
7
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
37
This is similar to the parallel operation of alternators. Need to check Three condition Voltage, Phase Sequence and frequency should be same.
 

schmitt trigger

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 17, 2013
Messages
2,627
Helped
837
Reputation
1,678
Reaction score
816
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
17,629
I would suggest something along the lines what Brian has suggested:
-Your main power grid will be your "master" source. Use it as it is.
-For the solar system, purchase a commercial grid-tie inverter. It will deliver back to the main grid as much power as the solar cells generate, which can be quite variable.
-For the local diesel generator, if it doesn't have the necessary equipment and instrumentation (which will include anti-islanding protection) your best bet is to convert it to DC (per Brian's suggestion) and then use another grid-tie inverter to feed the power back to the main grid.
 
  • Like
Reactions: FvM

    FvM

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
17,281
Helped
3,914
Reputation
7,826
Reaction score
3,778
Trophy points
113
Activity points
114,707
Hi,

Is the whole system connected to the power grid?

Klaus
 

betwixt

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
14,117
Helped
4,676
Reputation
9,366
Reaction score
4,414
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
Activity points
120,635
Based on post #3:
Synchronizing a generator to the grid is well possible, but requires specific generator instrumentation.
This sounds like a relatively small Diesel generator. While it is possible to use such a generator with a stable inverter output, I have never seen one. All the small ones (including my own 6KVA generator) use mechanical speed governors which are slow to react, often taking several seconds to recover from a load change. Even then the speed is audibly unstable so I would guess phase sync would be virtually impossible.

I have approx 2.5KW of PV here and the inverter works fine to supplement line AC but in conjunction with the generator it automatically goes into "attempting sync" mode and never succeeds.

Brian.
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
46,767
Helped
13,883
Reputation
28,014
Reaction score
12,521
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
272,939
I have approx 2.5KW of PV here and the inverter works fine to supplement line AC but in conjunction with the generator it automatically goes into "attempting sync" mode and never succeeds.
That sounds reasonable if the inverter has proper anti-islanding. The generator frequency fluctuation will probably prevent detection of stable grid connection.

Is the whole system connected to the power grid?
I presume "Electricity Board AC" means just this.

Total amps=6A, IS must make each source 1 &2&3 to take the load 2A
Why? A solar inverter would deliver the available power, whether it's resulting in less or more than 2 A. If there isn't enough sunlight, it can't deliver 460 W, if there's plenty of it, why throttle the inverter? The requirement is beyond the available and useful function of a solar inverter.

I also agree with the comments about small generators. To steer a grid connected generator, you need separate speed respectively power and voltage control. The latter is only available with a separately excited synchronous generator. After initial synchronization and grid power-on, the generator runs with synchronous speed. Throttle control commands the delivered real power rather than speed, generator excitation controls the reactive power.

If the generator is an asynchronous machine there's little chance for grid tied operation, instead you'll go for the suggested AC/DC/AC conversion.
 

Warpspeed

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
May 23, 2015
Messages
2,213
Helped
753
Reputation
1,508
Reaction score
731
Trophy points
113
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Activity points
17,766
Agree, AC/DC/AC conversion is definitely the way to go.

That is exactly how I am doing it myself right now.
High dc voltage can create a very efficient system requiring relatively low current.
I combine dc from a mains rectifier, with dc from solar panels, into an inverter to turn it back into ac.

With just a few diodes, any number of dc sources can be combined.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search


Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Sponsor

Design Fast


×
Top