Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

circuit convert voltage

Status
Not open for further replies.

ngochaigv888

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
31
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,429
i want take a circuit convert from 12vDC to 1000 VAC. any help me. sorry if english bad.
 

tpetar

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
6,417
Helped
1,713
Reputation
3,456
Reaction score
1,673
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Pancevo-Belgrade, Serbia
Activity points
37,370
I hope you realize that theoreticaly on secundar side this is 10KW (1000V x 10A). Definitely you need to use transformer, but I dont know what power source or battery bank you plan to use.
 

rfredel

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jun 22, 2012
Messages
290
Helped
80
Reputation
160
Reaction score
77
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Bonn, Germany
Activity points
3,096
Hello ngochaigv888,

do you really need 10A at 1000V ? That will be a power of 10kVA.
denk.gif


So you need a DC current for your inverter of approximately 1200A to 1500A.

I think, it's better you buy a diesel generator.

Regards

Rainer
 

ngochaigv888

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
31
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,429
I hope you realize that theoreticaly on secundar side this is 10KW (1000V x 10A). Definitely you need to use transformer, but I dont know what power source or battery bank you plan to use.
I use battery, and used with verry short time

- - - Updated - - -

Hello ngochaigv888,

do you really need 10A at 1000V ? That will be a power of 10kVA.
denk.gif


So you need a DC current for your inverter of approximately 1200A to 1500A.

I think, it's better you buy a diesel generator.

Regards

Rainer

yes. it's 10A at 1000V. i use with verry short time.
 

tpetar

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
6,417
Helped
1,713
Reputation
3,456
Reaction score
1,673
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Pancevo-Belgrade, Serbia
Activity points
37,370
You must use 400Ah 12V battery because smaller cant give you that current even on short time.

I dont know what you starting with this, for sure branded manufacturer will not use 12V voltage on that amperage.
 

ark5230

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
857
Helped
163
Reputation
324
Reaction score
140
Trophy points
1,323
Location
India
Activity points
6,146
Battery current is of the order of KiloAmpere and thus the rest of the circuitry will also have to be consistent, even conductors are to be specially designed it seems a tricky situation. I have experience in handling currents of this order of magnitude for less than a microsecond. In such situations the inductance contributed by the conductor is one of the limiting parameter if one is concerned about the rise time of the voltage and current pulse.
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
50,086
Helped
14,508
Reputation
29,286
Reaction score
13,453
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
287,706
It would make sense to specify "very short time" more clearly. 100ms, 1 s, 10 s? 12V (or whatever is left when the load is switched on) and 1000A is feasible with respective batteries. but you can make your life much easier and safe some kg's of copper by reverting to a higher battery voltage, as already mentioned.
 

ngochaigv888

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
31
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,429
It would make sense to specify "very short time" more clearly. 100ms, 1 s, 10 s? 12V (or whatever is left when the load is switched on) and 1000A is feasible with respective batteries. but you can make your life much easier and safe some kg's of copper by reverting to a higher battery voltage, as already mentioned.

thank.
I have new solution then. use another power
 

ark5230

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
857
Helped
163
Reputation
324
Reaction score
140
Trophy points
1,323
Location
India
Activity points
6,146
ngochaigv888

Wonderful concept. Please add more info.
I am working with High voltage (15 to 25 KV, KA) pulses for 50 to 200 ns range.
This concept seems to be newer than any thing else around.
I am constrained to use Krytrons and spark gaps.
Newer switching techniques will help.
 

ngochaigv888

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
31
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,429
for 25kv voltage is difficult insulation bettwen two poles. you can referency circuit of taser.
sorry. my english bad.
 

ark5230

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
857
Helped
163
Reputation
324
Reaction score
140
Trophy points
1,323
Location
India
Activity points
6,146
No it is not that difficult. air has breakdown strength to the tune of 25KV/cm (of course there are issues like edge effect and corona but can be managed), standard 1.6 mm or more double sided fiberglass epoxy PCB are also used for short pulse loading, water is also used for HV short pulse loading as dielectric (K=80 !!), oils like transformer oils are fine. You get HV capacitors too.
I dont know about taser must be something non-conventional !!! simply great. Thanks a lot for help.
By the way your query is still not very clear.
 
Last edited:

ngochaigv888

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
31
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,429
Taser is device convert small power supply DC to high-voltage. then it's discharge skill bad people.
sorry. my english bad.
 

ngochaigv888

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
31
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,429
It's example for convert short voltage to hight voltage. you need hight curent will used transistor and transformer big.
sorry, my english bad.
 

ark5230

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
857
Helped
163
Reputation
324
Reaction score
140
Trophy points
1,323
Location
India
Activity points
6,146
Handling higher voltages and that too at higher current levels is a tricky area if you are really working in this regime please bring in few more details. The voltages and current under discussion are not far from reality but will have to be for very short duration like pulses.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top