Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

character string array in AVR Studio (AVR GCC)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ark5230

Advanced Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am new to C and C++ but trying to use with AVR.
I am trying to use character string array like
a[1]="Name - 1"
a[2]="Name - 2"
a[3]="Name - 3"
a[4]="Name - 4"

Any resource or suggestion to declare and use such subscripted character string variable.
Storing in program memory or RAM will do.
If all goes will I wish to use it with EEPROM, I checked and test use of EEPROM with simple data.

To declare an array of null terminated strings in C you can use

Code:
char my_ram_array_of_strings[][9] = { 	"Name - 1",
					"Name - 2",
					"Name - 3",
					"Name - 4"};

The characters can then be acceded using my_ram_array_of_strings[y][x] where y is the vertical position (starting from 0 which is the top string) and x which is the horizontal position (starting from 0 which is the leftmost character)

Check
https://pages.cpsc.ucalgary.ca/~jacob/Courses/Fall00/CPSC231/Slides/10-ArraysAndStrings.pdf

Thanks a lot for complete and useful answer, It solved my current problem.
As mentioned in first mail, if I go for EEPROM with little larger number of elements, is it possible to define number of element in declaration and that too without initialising. I will carefully go through the PDF, this may also give some hint of direction.
It compiles however it seems it is accessing the character at [y] [x] and not the array at a time.