Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

CC1120 automatically change Bands from 169 to 950-MHz

Status
Not open for further replies.

nxt_

Member level 4
Joined
Aug 16, 2010
Messages
69
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Egypt
Activity points
1,834
kindly i want to know is it available to change the communication bands for the CC1120 while it is in operation?

what i need to do in hardware to grantee that i can sweep from 169 to 950 MHZ?

thanks in advance
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,426
Helped
14,252
Reputation
28,765
Reaction score
12,942
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
280,219
You need completely different matching networks and different antennas. Probably the best way to do it is to use two CC1120.
 
  • Like
Reactions: nxt_

    nxt_

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

nxt_

Member level 4
Joined
Aug 16, 2010
Messages
69
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Egypt
Activity points
1,834
Thanks for answer. but i am already using cc1120 what i am asking for is there is anyway to automatically set the bandwidth through the SPI with respect of the hardware. do i have to design a band pass filter after the antenna?.
thanks

- - - Updated - - -

kindly could you please clarify why i would use 2 cc1120 to sweep the entire range?
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,426
Helped
14,252
Reputation
28,765
Reaction score
12,942
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
280,219
What's your antenna solution to support both bands?

You need at least a RX balun and TX harmonic filtering. The TI suggested LC balun doesn't work for wideband, you may use a transformer. The TX filter and matching network must be switched between both bands, possibly togther with the antenna port.

My assumption is that separate transceiver can be the overall simpler solution, at least if you have two antenna ports.
 

eriksen

Junior Member level 1
Joined
May 13, 2014
Messages
19
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
3
Activity points
171
I would not recommend two transceivers for this as this would make the cost skyrocket. Instead use cc1120 and an antenna switch. Separate balun/matching network for the two frequencies.

However you use the term sweep. Do you mean that you want to sweep the whole area between 169mhz and 950mhz?
 
  • Like
Reactions: nxt_

    nxt_

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,426
Helped
14,252
Reputation
28,765
Reaction score
12,942
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
280,219
Yes, transformer balun and switched matching/filter network is a possible solution.

I didn't previouly pay attention to the "sweep" point. If you want to operate the transmitter at different bands than 170 and 915 MHz, you need to switch between more than two filters to comply with regulations.
 
  • Like
Reactions: nxt_

    nxt_

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top