Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

can someone help me with this Power-supply question?

Status
Not open for further replies.

R4Dt

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi Forum. I'm new here. I just occasionally need some help on electronic topics...

I'm a Pro-musician, but always had a weak side for electronics too.
Lately I got my hands dirty on "renovating" some old mixing-desks, and learned a lot of new things.
(also - some bad experiences).

Now, I have this old H|H-desk standing here, but the original ("dual-coil") transformer is dead.
Normally it is has a rotary-switch on the back to select the voltage. (110 / 220 V).
Since I don't need that, I'm thinking to simply remove it.
Also - I happen to have a rather nice Single-coil transformer that I that I would like to put in instead.

Now, since I really don't know the rules of POWER-SUPPLIES, and how they are "installed" correctly, I just wanted someone that knows things
to give me blessings for my project.

It's really nothing wild, I think.
- but then again, I could be wildly mistaken!

I'll try to explain the givens:

Desk has a 2-coil transf. (??) 1A
- it has 4 pins on one coil, and 3 pins on the other.
(See schematics).

The one I've bought has 4 pins;
0 / 220V / 0 / 24V
// Primary: 220V - 0,2 A
Second. 24V - 1,3 A

CAN I replace the old (malfunctioning)one with this one?

Please try to explain for me the DOs and DON'Ts if there are some, since I want to learn...

Thanks.

Attachments

• HHSt16-Pwr.jpg
    HHSt16-Pwr.jpg
    170.1 KB · Views: 87