Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Can I share a single transformer for 2 power supply circuits

Status
Not open for further replies.

ArJunaBug

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am just getting back into electronics. It has been about 30 years since I worked in electronics. I spent the last thirty years as a computer engineer. Previous to that I worked as an electronics technician at a research lab and also in the US Navy. So I am a bit rusty with this stuff. I appreciate any help I can get.

I am building a power supply and the transformer I have is a simple 28VCT. I want to provide a variable output from about ±2-13 volts and a separate ±5 volt output.

I built the circuit last night and it seems to work fine.

What I want to know is does anyone see a problem with doing this as illustrated in the schematic? See the section highlighted in red.

Is it necessary to have a separate transformer or a separate secondary output from the transformer?

Thanks

Re: Can I share a single transformer for 2 power supply circ

ArJunaBug said:
Is it necessary to have a separate transformer or a separate secondary output from the transformer?
No, in principle this will work fine, as you share a common COMMON.
But there are 2 problems:
- the 2 elkos between the ADJ terminals of the 7805/7905 regulators and COMMON should probably be short circuits to COMMON - I guess this wasn't intended so