Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

can any one help me to solve this linker error for dsPIC33FJ128GP706?

Status
Not open for further replies.

haroon_tech

Member level 2
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
51
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
bangalore
Activity points
1,727
hi,
i have a code for dspic33fj128gp706, i am compiling the code i got this following errors for MPLAB C30 V3.30 ...
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\adc.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\asm_code.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\Calcu.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\calibrate.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\Flash Operations.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\global.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\I2CSubs.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\interrupt.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\MCP390x.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\UART.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\DEE Emulation 16-bit.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\mainbackup.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\TRY2.cof" is out of date.
Executing: "C:\Program Files\Microchip\mplabc30\v3.30\bin\pic30-gcc.exe" -mcpu=33FJ128GP706 "adc.o" "asm_code.o" "Calcu.o" "calibrate.o" "Flash Operations.o" "global.o" "I2CSubs.o" "interrupt.o" "MCP390x.o" "UART.o" "DEE Emulation 16-bit.o" "mainbackup.o" "C:\Program Files\Microchip\mplabc30\v3.30\lib\dsPIC33F\libp33FJ128GP706-elf.a" -o"TRY2.cof" -Wl,--script="C:\Program Files\Microchip\mplabc30\v3.30\support\dsPIC33F\gld\p33FJ128GP706.gld",--defsym=__MPLAB_BUILD=1,--defsym=__MPLAB_DEBUG=1,-Map="TRY2.map",--report-mem
mainbackup.o: Link Error: Could not allocate section .nbss, size = 2306 bytes, attributes = bss near
MCP390x.o: Link Error: Could not allocate section .ndata, size = 516 bytes, attributes = data near
UART.o: Link Error: Could not allocate section .nbss, size = 242 bytes, attributes = bss near
Calcu.o: Link Error: Could not allocate section .nbss, size = 166 bytes, attributes = bss near
mainbackup.o: Link Error: Could not allocate section .ndata, size = 142 bytes, attributes = data near
Link Error: Could not allocate data memory
Link step failed.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Debug build of project `D:\code\18_june\TRY2.mcp' failed.
Language tool versions: pic30-as.exe v3.30, pic30-gcc.exe v3.30, pic30-ld.exe v3.30, pic30-ar.exe v3.30
Preprocessor symbol `__DEBUG' is defined.
Mon Jun 18 17:40:32 2012



please help me out to solve this linker error?.....
 

btbass

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 20, 2001
Messages
1,897
Helped
438
Reputation
880
Reaction score
287
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Oberon
Activity points
12,863
The eeprom emulation code can take up a lot of memory, depending on how many pages you have defined.
Try to compile without the Emulation to see if that is the problem.
 

haroon_tech

Member level 2
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
51
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
bangalore
Activity points
1,727
hi btbass,
i removed emulation file from project and compiled no changes same linking errors are giving
 

btbass

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 20, 2001
Messages
1,897
Helped
438
Reputation
880
Reaction score
287
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Oberon
Activity points
12,863
Are you using any of the dsp stuff that uses X and Y data spaces?

You could try changing the memory model in the compiler options to large.
 
Last edited:

haroon_tech

Member level 2
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
51
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
bangalore
Activity points
1,727
yes i am using X and Y data spaces ...


how to change the memory model in compiler ? can you tell me plz...

- - - Updated - - -

yes i am using X and Y data spaces ...


how to change the memory model in compiler ? can you tell me plz...



hi, btbass
i changed the memory model and compiler the code now it is giving this following errors.....
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\try1.cof" is out of date.
Executing: "C:\Program Files\Microchip\mplabc30\v3.30\bin\pic30-gcc.exe" -mcpu=33FJ128GP706 "adc.o" "asm_code.o" "Calcu.o" "calibrate.o" "DEE Emulation 16-bit.o" "Flash Operations.o" "global.o" "I2CSubs.o" "interrupt.o" "main.o" "MCP390x.o" "UART.o" "C:\Program Files\Microchip\mplabc30\v3.30\lib\dsPIC33F\libp33FJ128GP706-elf.a" -o"try1.cof" -Wl,--script="C:\Program Files\Microchip\mplabc30\v3.30\support\dsPIC33F\gld\p33FJ128GP706.gld",--defsym=__MPLAB_BUILD=1,--defsym=__MPLAB_DEBUG=1,-Map="try1.map",--report-mem
asm_code.o: Link Error: Could not allocate section .text, size = 1010 PC units, attributes = code
data_init: Link Error: Could not allocate section .dinit, size = 610 PC units, attributes = code
Link Error: Could not allocate program memory
Link step failed.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Debug build of project `D:\code\18_june\try1.mcp' failed.
Language tool versions: pic30-as.exe v3.30, pic30-gcc.exe v3.30, pic30-ld.exe v3.30, pic30-ar.exe v3.30
Preprocessor symbol `__DEBUG' is defined.
Tue Jun 19 11:58:46 2012

can you tell why this linker errors are coming ? how i can fix this errors....


thank you
 

btbass

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 20, 2001
Messages
1,897
Helped
438
Reputation
880
Reaction score
287
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Oberon
Activity points
12,863
It seems to be having problems with 'asm_code'.
Try compiling without that file so you can isolate the problem.
 

haroon_tech

Member level 2
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
51
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
bangalore
Activity points
1,727
hi, btsass
as you said i removed the asm code from my project and compiled..one linker error is removed but still one is remaining
Debug build of project `D:\code\18_june\try1.mcp' started.
Language tool versions: pic30-as.exe v3.30, pic30-gcc.exe v3.30, pic30-ld.exe v3.30, pic30-ar.exe v3.30
Preprocessor symbol `__DEBUG' is defined.
Tue Jun 19 12:53:40 2012
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\adc.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\Calcu.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\calibrate.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\DEE Emulation 16-bit.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\global.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\I2CSubs.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\interrupt.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\main.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\MCP390x.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\UART.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "D:\code\18_june\try1.cof" is out of date.
Executing: "C:\Program Files\Microchip\mplabc30\v3.30\bin\pic30-gcc.exe" -mcpu=33FJ128GP706 "adc.o" "Calcu.o" "calibrate.o" "DEE Emulation 16-bit.o" "global.o" "I2CSubs.o" "interrupt.o" "main.o" "MCP390x.o" "UART.o" "C:\Program Files\Microchip\mplabc30\v3.30\lib\dsPIC33F\libp33FJ128GP706-elf.a" -o"try1.cof" -Wl,--script="C:\Program Files\Microchip\mplabc30\v3.30\support\dsPIC33F\gld\p33FJ128GP706.gld",--defsym=__MPLAB_BUILD=1,--defsym=__MPLAB_DEBUG=1,-Map="try1.map",--report-mem
data_init: Link Error: Could not allocate section .dinit, size = 610 PC units, attributes = code
Link Error: Could not allocate program memory
Link step failed.


thank you ..
 

btbass

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 20, 2001
Messages
1,897
Helped
438
Reputation
880
Reaction score
287
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Oberon
Activity points
12,863
data_init comes from the start up file.
It seems to suggest you have run out of memory?
 

btbass

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 20, 2001
Messages
1,897
Helped
438
Reputation
880
Reaction score
287
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Oberon
Activity points
12,863
I don't know.
The only thing I can suggest is that you remove one file at a time from the project to see if you can isolate what code is causing the problem.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top