Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Beginning 8051 with (keil) C

Status
Not open for further replies.

bitsurfer

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,
I am absolute beginner in microcontrollers and uC programming.
With some experience in PC C programming I started with first program in keil C.
So I have few questions for experienced programmers.

1) In my uVision3 project I have included file "AT89X51.H" in which bit 0 of port 2 is defined as:
Code:
    sbit P2_0 = 0xA0;

Later in program I want to simplify this bit by giving him understandable name, like:
Code:
   sbit relay = P2_0;
... but I get error "BLINK.C(12): error C146: 'P2_0': invalid base address"

However, later I find that I can declare "relay" as such: "sbit relay = P2^0;" or "sbit relay = 0xA0;" but anyway I would like to know why I can't assign "P2_0" to "relay" when both are of same type (sbit).

2) My first project is a simple counter with few delays which shift led's, turn on/off relay and print counted number to lcd.
Somewhere in my code I have to make a string (unsigned char[]) from my (counted ) number so I include <stdio.h> at top of program and use
Code:
   sprintf(buf1, "%d", counted);
... like I would do in C programming at PC.
But while all program (hex) is long about 1,5 kb this single line takes additional 3 kb of program!
Using <stdio.h> seems to me very comfortable for use but price (in bytes) seem's very high.
Is this normal?
And if is:
How to convert counted number to char array to be suitable to show on display without too much spended bytes?

According to Keil forum:-