Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Basic LC High Pass filter simulation in ADS is not the same with real PCB

Status
Not open for further replies.
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I am new in RF electronics. I am learning ADS and other theoretical stuff about RF. I thought that i can create an Elliptic LC high pass filter on real PCB board to exercise. Before i create the board, firstly, i have chosen a high pass cut off frequency from RF-tools website. The specs, circuit schematic and graph can be seen in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 3 respectively. The cut off frequency which i have chosen is 1050 MHz. Then, to see the same figure in ADS, I simulated the fig2 schematic in ADS. In the ADS simulation, i used the standard component values for capacitors and inductors by rounding the exact values from RF Tools schematic. This circuit schematic and graph can be seen in Fig. 4 and Fig. 5. respectively. In the next step, Because I am going to use my real components on board, I had to make a realistic simulation. I have the capacitors and inductors with SMD 603. I added them to ADS as C_pad1 and L_pad1. Also, I attached the microstrip lines to the ADS.

Finally, the microstrip lines and 3d components(SMD 603 capacitor and inductor) are ready and same with the board. This circuit schematic can be seen in Fig. 6 and corresponding graph in Fig. 7. As it can be seen in Fig7, the cut off frequency is not the same which i selected at first and i think that this is due to the lines. The graph in fig.7 is my expectation on Real PCB.