Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Astable multivibrator to switch electromagnets

Status
Not open for further replies.

ElectroNewbie

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, this is my first post so please let me know if I'm in the wrong place

I'm trying to find the simplest circuit diagram possible and hopefully with no soldering, (I'm very new to this) for what I think is termed an Astable multivibrator

I want to create a seesaw effect with a metal bar on a central swivel point with an electromagnet underneath each arm of the seesaw. The circuit should switch on the current on one of the electromagnets and off on the other and then swap over. This would make the metal bar move like a seesaw.

I would like to be able to adjust the speed that the circuit switches back and forth from about 1 cycle every three seconds to about 5 cycles a second. I think this would be with a variable resister? The circuit for the electromagnets would be separate to this circuit which would only do the switching. Would this be difficult to accomplish?

Thank you

You could use two time-delay relays. No soldering, but lots of money. Now might be a good time to learn to solder! I would look at using a 555 timer and a couple of transistors. They are cheap and plentiful. But if you REALLY don't want to solder, you could use a breadboard.

Thank you for the reply - despite it being particularly unhelpful, at least someone took the time to read the query