Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

[SOLVED] Antenna radiation 3d plotting in Scilab

Status
Not open for further replies.

Masak

Newbie level 3
Joined
May 21, 2014
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
25
Can anyone help me with my 3d plot?
I need to plot the Antenna response at given theta and phi angles.
I have 19 steps of theta from -pi/2 to +pi/2 with 10 degrees for each step.
I have 361 steps of phi from -pi to +pi with 1 degree for each step.

for each step of theta I have 361 measured response (R).
In total I have 19*361 = 6859 values of R.

My code is giving me spiky graph rather than a surface graph.


clf;
clear;

C = fscanfMat('C:\Measurements.dat', "%lg");

Theta_Rad = linspace(-%pi/2,%pi/2,19);

Phi_Rad = linspace(-%pi,%pi,361);

R = C(2:6860,2);

n = 1;

for i=1:19
for j=1:361
X(n)= R(n).*sin(Phi_Rad(j))'*cos(Theta_Rad(i));
Y(n)= R(n).*sin(Phi_Rad(j))'*sin(Theta_Rad(i));
Z(n)= R(n).*cos(Phi_Rad(j))'*ones(Theta_Rad(i));
n = n+1;
end;
end

plot3d3(X,Y,Z);

When I compared each cut (of the 19 steps) with the corresponding 2d plot they were identical.
I also tried to use the "mesh" and the "eval3dp" but I keep getting errors.

I want to to have a smooth surface plotting rather than spiky graph.

I would really appreciate it if anyone can help me with this.
Thanks in advanced.
 

flanello

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
435
Helped
91
Reputation
182
Reaction score
81
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
3,491
"Measurements.dat" indicates that you have measured data. Can the spikes come from the data itself?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Masak

    Masak

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

Masak

Newbie level 3
Joined
May 21, 2014
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
25
"Measurements.dat" indicates that you have measured data. Can the spikes come from the data itself?
The plot function I'm using is not displaying a sphere. It is only displaying 19 different contours which share the same center. The diameter at each point of the contour represents the strength of the signal at this specific point. I want to display a sphere rather than isolated contours?
 

Masak

Newbie level 3
Joined
May 21, 2014
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
25
"Measurements.dat" indicates that you have measured data. Can the spikes come from the data itself?
Thanks a lot flanello
I managed to solve it now! It turns out that the measured data were all in db and all negative. Once I added an offset value to make them all positive I got the right plot.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top