Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

an inductor working around 2 KHz of 160uH design

Status
Not open for further replies.

billano786

Super Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2001
Messages
141
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
755
Q factor

I want to design an inductor working around 2 KHz of 160uH. Going by exprience of you peolple what is the maximum value of Q factor that can be obtained practically?
 

flatulent

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
4,629
Helped
489
Reputation
980
Reaction score
150
Trophy points
1,343
Location
Middle Earth
Activity points
46,689
few hundred

You can get a few hundred if you use a large pot core and a bobin with three sections to keep the self capacitance down.

the Ferroxcube web site has a pdf manual on making inductors and other magnetic parts.
 

bappa_banga

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
15
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
india
Activity points
157
does anyone have materials on how to calculate the q factor
 

flatulent

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
4,629
Helped
489
Reputation
980
Reaction score
150
Trophy points
1,343
Location
Middle Earth
Activity points
46,689
core losses

The problem with inductors that use coils is the core loss. I do not know of any algebraic formulas for doing this with specific core material.
 

billano786

Super Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2001
Messages
141
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
755
Has any one personally ever achieved Q about 100 at 3A current (3kHZ) using pot core?
 

pool_77

Full Member level 3
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
183
Helped
5
Reputation
8
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
EU
Activity points
1,267
next week, I will be probably measure on Q meter. I can try to measure similar coil which I found and I will inform you about

pool_77
 

flatulent

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
4,629
Helped
489
Reputation
980
Reaction score
150
Trophy points
1,343
Location
Middle Earth
Activity points
46,689
pot cores

The Q should be large with a gapped core which reduces core loss. This cannot be gone to extremes as the very large gap requires more wire turns which raises the resistance loss.
 

pool_77

Full Member level 3
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
183
Helped
5
Reputation
8
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
EU
Activity points
1,267
Yes, you are right,
because there is a big current, there must be a gap. I think that it is possible to use core with diam. about 26 mm or less, gap about 0.4 mm and Al since 250nH, DC resistance about 1 ohm with wire about 0,7 mm.


pool_77
 

flatulent

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
4,629
Helped
489
Reputation
980
Reaction score
150
Trophy points
1,343
Location
Middle Earth
Activity points
46,689
gapped cores

There are several other areas to use gapped cores.

One is for large AC signals like in HF transmitters. The currents they produce will saturate not-gapped cores.

Another is precision inductors and high Q inductors.

One assembly trick for all cores is to remove the small flakes of ferrite from the mating surfaces which cause unwanted air gaps. This is done by wiping the mating surfaces on a piece of paper seconds before putting the core halves together.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top