Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Altium libraries how does it work?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gazzi

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm fairly new to this, so am stuck already.
In Altium, if a part isn't in the libraries I know I can add other libraries and search those, but what do I do if it's not to be found?

An example is 6n138 opto-isolators. Do I just use a generic 6 pin IC in some library? Or is there some place for these I am missing?

Am I better off using Eagle since it seems much more widely used, and I'm more likely to find these parts?

you can't find all part in the library but you can easly find the library of footprint, there is différent component that has the same footprint, in your cas you search for a DIP-8 in the footprint library

Reactions: gazzi

gazzi

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
That is helpful. I assumed that there were custom libraries for most common components, but I guess maybe not all.

How about if I was looking for jacks or plugs, like the 5 pin din plugs used on PC AT keyboards in the 80's and now used now as MIDI connectors?

What is the generic footprint for those?

Actually if you're exeperienced with Altium you should not worry about any footprints or schematic components - creating new components in Altium is easy and you can get quickly exactly what you want. For time you spent in this forum you could create your component. I would recommend you to find some tutorial for Altium how to create new components like Altium Designer Tutorial: Create a component library - YouTube

gazzi

Thanks. I will watch that again.