Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Alrium vs Xilinx ' .. xilinx ISE not supported'

Status
Not open for further replies.

ficko

Newbie level 5
Joined
Oct 4, 2009
Messages
8
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Hungary
Activity points
1,327
Alrium vs Xilinx

Hi!
I'm trying to program CPLD in Altium. It's recognise my CPLD thruout JTAG. But it writes a message ' .. xilinx ISE not supported'

What is the problem?

Is here anybody?
Help me please?
Thanks!
Ficko
 

leonqin

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 7, 2001
Messages
238
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
China
Activity points
1,763
Alrium vs Xilinx

why not use ISE directly?
 

    ficko

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

ficko

Newbie level 5
Joined
Oct 4, 2009
Messages
8
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Hungary
Activity points
1,327
Re: Alrium vs Xilinx

leonqin said:
why not use ISE directly?
Hi Leongin.
Thats, becouse I like Altium and use it for schematic and PCB planning. Its very convinient for me. They are translating VHDL files more and more quick than Xilinx.

But one the problem. Vhen Altium connecting to my board (XC2-XL),recognise it write : The Xilinx ISE support not found.
Can you help me?

Great thanks!

Sorry for my poor English.

Regards!
Ficko
 

eSilviu

Newbie level 6
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
13
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,351
Re: Alrium vs Xilinx

leonqin said:
why not use ISE directly?

because it's a BIG piece of s***t!
1. You have to download a windows+linux package. Why do i need to download linux files when I use only windows?!:?:
2. It's installing libraries for all known FPGA's, ever develloped by Xilinx.
3. It's based on xxx.xxx small files , more than in 10 operating sistems!!! It's an overkill for the antivirus.
4. To install latest version 11.1 you need 7G free on HDD, and to install update to the latest 11.3 version you need 10G more. It's huge, for the 50 files that you actually use for develloping with a specific FPGA.
5. I've deleted about 3.5G (except backup files) from it's installation folder, and it's still fully functional to my needs.
6. It won't work if you have an antivirus active. it won't compile project, saying some stupid "no write rights on xxx folder"
7. it's crash more often than windows 98.
 

xtcx

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Messages
494
Helped
65
Reputation
130
Reaction score
58
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Bangalore, India
Activity points
5,003
Re: Alrium vs Xilinx

Yes!....And often the core generator won't work saying the java has encountered an error closing everything. Big headache....Could you tell me the files that can be safely deleted?. I'm using Virtex 4 and spartan 3 only. Thanks
 

eSilviu

Newbie level 6
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
13
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,351
Re: Alrium vs Xilinx

xtcx said:
Yes!....And often the core generator won't work saying the java has encountered an error closing everything. Big headache....Could you tell me the files that can be safely deleted?. I'm using Virtex 4 and spartan 3 only. Thanks
I've sent you a pm.
 

ficko

Newbie level 5
Joined
Oct 4, 2009
Messages
8
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Hungary
Activity points
1,327
Re: Alrium vs Xilinx

eSilviu said:
xtcx said:
Yes!....And often the core generator won't work saying the java has encountered an error closing everything. Big headache....Could you tell me the files that can be safely deleted?. I'm using Virtex 4 and spartan 3 only. Thanks
I've sent you a pm.


Is here anybody who can help me? Why Altium is write XILINX ISE COULD NOT BE FOUND?

Thanks
 

a_santhanaraj

Newbie level 2
Joined
Jul 1, 2009
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,289
Which Version of Altium u use??? Altium Designer Winter 09 doesnt support ISE 11 version. You might have to upgrade it to summer 09.


all the best
 

ficko

Newbie level 5
Joined
Oct 4, 2009
Messages
8
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Hungary
Activity points
1,327
what are the different compiles?
Document compile, recompile, compile project, VHDL compile?
WHO are clear with this?
Plesase disclime us!
REgards!
Ficko
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top