Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

AC analysis: IAC or VAC

Status
Not open for further replies.

analogpr

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello! I am new in analog design. I would like to know how can i choose between ac current source and ac voltage source when conducting ac analysis. why do we usually put 1A( or 1V) as an ac amplitude in ac analysis.
Thanks

Hello! I am new in analog design. I would like to know how can i choose between ac current source and ac voltage source when conducting ac analysis. why do we usually put 1A( or 1V) as an ac amplitude in ac analysis.
Thanks

Hi analogpr
So welcome to the analog circuit world which is pretty sweet !!!
Anyway , i think you mean the dead circuit isn't it ?
When we want draw thevenin or norton model , in circuits which have no independent current or voltage source and we just can see dependent sources and R or RLC elements , we can this circuit dead . so as you probably know every current source has infinite impedance and every voltage source has zero impedance . (DC sources in here ) but dependent current sources are not infinite Z and dependent voltage sources are not short circuit too , so we must be able to understand the real impedance of our circuit to mention it in norton or thevenin equivalent circuit , so we must investigate on behavior of circuit instead of real condition . so we can put real and independent sources in out put terminal of our circuits to understand the real impedance ( usually 1 volt or 1 ampere ) .