Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

A transmitter and receiver circuit to turn on a laser diode

Status
Not open for further replies.

chhavigandhi

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
i am trying to make a circuit with laser diode on receiver.
I want the laser to turn on when receiver receives the signal. Also I want at least 100 ft distance between both TX and RX.
This is my first time so I have a whole bunch of questions:
1. Laser diode: does it need a driver always? Can I build it integrated with RX or should I buy a chip for that? Also how do I decide on the laser? what are the specs.. I need low power and low cost
2. Which technology can be used for TX and RX? I was thing on RF but i have no idea how to start making a RF Tx or RX,
I thought about BLE and ANT but I need opinion and suggestions
3. Also if I want an alarm to ring which transmitter switch is pushed and it sends the signal.. do I need a microcontroller say MSP430. If anybody has ever done something related to this, pls reply
Ty !

You do want many things!

1. Any laser diode is a special device which is VERY sensitive to the value of its forward current. This is why a driver is needed. A good driver also adjusts the current according to laser temperature, otherwise laser can die soon. Find laser diode specifications before you buy one. Be careful with IR lasers like used in CD players, they can burn your eyes in a blink!