Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

A push-button for reversing polarity?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dw2296

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I am an amateur working on an electronics project and am using a latching relay that requires a reversed polarity to unlatch. I know that I can use a DPDT rocker switch and wire it to reverse polarity, but I really want to use a push button for this specific application. However, it has to be momentary and normally off when not in use; I just want it to momentarily pulse the relay in directions that are reversed every time the switch is pressed (so for example with five succinct presses of the push button the relay would go something like: latch, unlatch, latch, unlatch, latch). Is this possible? I've been searching online for something like this but haven't had any luck so far. Any suggestions to accomplish the same task in a slightly different way is also welcomed. Thanks for any help!

If it matters, I am using the relay below. One side of the relay has a single throw circuit and the other has a dual throw circuit, while the two opposite pins at the end control it.

**broken link removed**

I have designed a driver circuit for a similar latching relay. I do not remember details, but I used a 7401 IC to form pulses from the push button, then a divider-by-two, and a pair of optical power drivers, PVG 612, to drive the coil(s) in both directions.