Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

3 stage timer design (reworded - new diagram)

Status
Not open for further replies.

cliffclivin

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello

I have some experience building electronic kits as a kid - radio's, transmitters, amp's etc. Later at University I was taught aspects of digital design using Electronics workbench - such as logic gates, flip flops, binary adders etc

I have a basic working knowledge but with some gaps. My main problem is I do not have electronics workbench or university lecturers handy to help...

I am trying to build a simple timer that cycles between 3 set delays, while energising two relays. One relay is on during the first time period, and the other relay is on during the last time period.

My idea is to use both sides of a D Type Flip Flop - and use the 2 flip flops to cycle between the three time periods. And use three 4017 Decade counters, and a 555 astable for clock pulses.

A capacitor & some diodes will 'set' both flip flops in the approprate mode on power-up so they are in sync. This is not shown on the diagram.

My idea:

Counter A starts count. Relay B is on

Counter A finishes count, resets flip flop A, Relay B is off. Starting Counter B.

Counter B finishes count, Resets flip flop B, Starting Counter C, Relay A turns on.

Counter C finished count, Sets Flip Flops A and B, Relay A turns off. Relay B Turns ON, Counter A starts count.