Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help identifying resistors and placements

Status
Not open for further replies.

CSUjr

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,
I am completely new to electronics and I would like to ask for some help.

I have recently purchased an electronic kit called "PIC Dual Dice"

This did come with a schematic and some instructions but not being familiar with electronics I've gotten lost. :cry:

I have identified most of the components but I'm stuck on identifying 2 of the resistors.

One of the sets (2@) of resistors is a 150R resistor and the other set (2@) is a 10K resistor.

These resistors look identical in configuration, with the exception of the color bands around them.

One of the sets has the following color bands;
Gold, Brown, Green, Brown.
The other set has the following color bands;
Gold, Orange, Black, Brown
I do have kind of a color code chart but it is difficult to know for sure.
My best guess is that the one with the Green band is the 150R.

Can you tell me from this description which ones are which?

The board shows 2 ports for each of these resistors.
One set is labeled R1 & R2. The other set is labeled R3 & R4.
These labels appear on one of each of these on the board.
Can you tell me which end of these resistors goes into the port that shows the label (* ------*R1)?
Is it the end that has the Gold band that should go closest to the label, or is it the other end?

Also, I have a 10uF electrolytic capacitor with with wires of different lengths.