Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to design higher order bandpass filter using only L,R,C?

Status
Not open for further replies.

wajahat

Advanced Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hi ,i am new to filter designing and want to know how can i design higher order bandpass filter using only L,R,C components.I don't want to use any active components.e.g. amplifier.
Any relevant material in this regard would be helpful.
Thanks.
Wajhat.

Re: How to design higher order bandpass filter using only L,

**broken link removed** is a free design program. This will get you by for the moment, but you should read some books on passive filters to gain knowledge and talent in passive filters.

You can quickly design passive filters using MicroCap 7.1.6 or later:

Design -> Passive Filters -> chouse bandpass -> enter Center freq., passband, slopband and type (Chebyshev or Butterworth)

wajahat

Helpful Answer Positive Rating

Filter order and type is solely defined by the poles and zero's of the transfer function of the filter. Chebyshev, Butterworth, Bessel, etc. refer to the types of polynomials that are used to define the filter response.

This is separate from the implementation, which could be with an active device, LC Ladder, coupled resonators, etc.

Dave
www.keystoneradio.com

the circuit is very simple, that is by putting R in parallel with (C parallel to L):

47_1167471549.JPG

Fc=1/sqrt(LC)
and the band pass width will be determined by the quality factor of the resonance circuit "Q" which is fn(R)

But this will give you a low order BP filter..