+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24
  1. #1
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,937, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    467
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    2,937
    Level
    12

    MOSFET Gets Hot in H Bridge

    Hi all.
    I tried making a H Bridge Circuit using P Channel and N Channel Mosfet and driving the mosfets using transistors. but the P Channel mosfet gets extremely hot within a second,
    can anybody please let me know where the problem is.

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 3,116, Level: 13
    baileychic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    622
    Helped
    49 / 49
    Points
    3,116
    Level
    13

    Re: MOSFET Gets Hot in H Bridge

    You can put voltmeters across

    1. drain and source of each mosfet and
    2. across collector and emitter of each transistor

    in Proteus and see which mosfets and transistors turns On at the same time.

    From this you can understand what is wrong.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Points: 77,099, Level: 67
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,620
    Helped
    3559 / 3559
    Points
    77,099
    Level
    67

    Re: MOSFET Gets Hot in H Bridge

    Hi,

    A similar discussion a couple of weeks ago.
    https://www.edaboard.com/showthread....=1#post1656458.

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.


    1 members found this post helpful.

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 3,116, Level: 13
    baileychic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    622
    Helped
    49 / 49
    Points
    3,116
    Level
    13

    Re: MOSFET Gets Hot in H Bridge

    What are you trying to drive from the H-Bridge? Motor? If yes, what is the voltage and current rating of the motor?



  5. #5
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 1,915, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    359
    Helped
    88 / 88
    Points
    1,915
    Level
    10

    Re: MOSFET Gets Hot in H Bridge

    the source of the N channel FETs is at 0V
    the gate of the N channel FETs is at 12V or 0V, depending on the state of the transistor
    therefore the N channel FET is ON or OFF depending on the transistor, depending on the drive signal

    the source of the P channel FETs is at 24V
    the gate of the P channel FETs is at 12V or 0V, depending on the state of the transistor
    therefore the P channel FET is ON all the time

    when Q1 is ON: Q6 conducts through the load, as it should AND Q2 conducts with no load (no current limit) through Q1.

    When Q1 turns OFF, and Q5 turns ON, Q1 and Q6 change roles.
    so the P channel FETs are ON all the time, with no limiting device (nominally) 50% of the time

    connecting R1 and R5 to 24V instead of 12V may help

    there may still be a common conduction time in the timing between when Q2 and Q1 are switching
    and likewise Q6 and Q5, but it will be during the transitions and not all the time


    1 members found this post helpful.

  6. #6
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,937, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    467
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    2,937
    Level
    12

    Re: MOSFET Gets Hot in H Bridge

    Quote Originally Posted by wwfeldman View Post
    the source of the N channel FETs is at 0V
    the gate of the N channel FETs is at 12V or 0V, depending on the state of the transistor
    therefore the N channel FET is ON or OFF depending on the transistor, depending on the drive signal

    the source of the P channel FETs is at 24V
    the gate of the P channel FETs is at 12V or 0V, depending on the state of the transistor
    therefore the P channel FET is ON all the time

    when Q1 is ON: Q6 conducts through the load, as it should AND Q2 conducts with no load (no current limit) through Q1.

    When Q1 turns OFF, and Q5 turns ON, Q1 and Q6 change roles.
    so the P channel FETs are ON all the time, with no limiting device (nominally) 50% of the time

    connecting R1 and R5 to 24V instead of 12V may help

    there may still be a common conduction time in the timing between when Q2 and Q1 are switching
    and likewise Q6 and Q5, but it will be during the transitions and not all the time
    How can a P channel mosfet stays ON all the time.
    to completely ON the Mosfet i need atleast 0V and to OFF it i needs atleast 10V at gate.

    The reason behind using the H bridge circuit i drive the Inductive load at high frequency of approx 300 Khz, and then convert it to AC.
    THe IC's which are readily available in the market works for not more than 25 Khz.



  7. #7
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 3,116, Level: 13
    baileychic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    622
    Helped
    49 / 49
    Points
    3,116
    Level
    13

    Re: MOSFET Gets Hot in H Bridge

    If Gate voltage is lower than Drain then it will turn On.

    For example Drain is 24V and Gate is 12V then MOSFET will turn On. There is a difference of 12V (24V - 12V = 12V).

    and maybe that is sufficient to turn On your chosen Mosfet.

    Ate you driving a transformer from H-Bridge to make something like a 24V to 220V Inverter?

    You need Full-Bridge Circuit and not H-Bridge. Diagonally opposite Mosfets in the bridge has to turn On at a time.

    You need FET Drivers to drive the Mosfets.



  8. #8
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,937, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    467
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    2,937
    Level
    12

    Re: MOSFET Gets Hot in H Bridge

    Quote Originally Posted by baileychic View Post
    If Gate voltage is lower than Drain then it will turn On.

    For example Drain is 24V and Gate is 12V then MOSFET will turn On. There is a difference of 12V (24V - 12V = 12V).

    and maybe that is sufficient to turn On your chosen Mosfet.

    Ate you driving a transformer from H-Bridge to make something like a 24V to 220V Inverter?

    You need Full-Bridge Circuit and not H-Bridge. Diagonally opposite Mosfets in the bridge has to turn On at a time.

    You need FET Drivers to drive the Mosfets.
    got your point. Thanks
    i just need 24V AC output, but only the thing is i need high frequency of appox 300 Khz.
    will L298 Work for it, or can you suggest any other IC's or circuit



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  9. #9
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 3,116, Level: 13
    baileychic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    622
    Helped
    49 / 49
    Points
    3,116
    Level
    13

    Re: MOSFET Gets Hot in H Bridge

    Refer datasheet for device operating frequency.

    24V from 24V means no transformer in your design as load but what is the inductive load? Can it operate at 300 kHz?



  10. #10
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,937, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    467
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    2,937
    Level
    12

    Re: MOSFET Gets Hot in H Bridge

    i have came across one of the article
    http://tahmidmc.blogspot.com/2013/05...cessfully.html
    will this help

    - - - Updated - - -

    i need to drive a inductive load

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by baileychic View Post
    Refer datasheet for device operating frequency.

    24V from 24V means no transformer in your design as load but what is the inductive load? Can it operate at 300 kHz?
    300 Khz is not fixed, but approx



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  11. #11
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 3,116, Level: 13
    baileychic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    622
    Helped
    49 / 49
    Points
    3,116
    Level
    13

    Re: MOSFET Gets Hot in H Bridge

    You need SPWM to get Sine wave AC output from Bridge.

    Can be done but what max load current you want?

    300 KHz frequency will need a very fast processor for the timer interrupt code which updates the PWM duty to generate SPWM.

    I guess PIC or AVR 8-bit can't do it.



  12. #12
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,937, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    467
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    2,937
    Level
    12

    Re: MOSFET Gets Hot in H Bridge

    max load current is around 6 Amps.

    - - - Updated - - -

    software is not an issue for me. will try my best for the processor to give output of 300 Khz.



  13. #13
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 3,116, Level: 13
    baileychic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    622
    Helped
    49 / 49
    Points
    3,116
    Level
    13

    Re: MOSFET Gets Hot in H Bridge

    Is it AC sine wave output that you want? If yes, is it 300 kHz sine wave output?

    In Inverters the PWM of SPWM will be say 7 kHz to sometimes 300 kHz but the output sine wave will be 50 or 60 Hz.



  14. #14
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,937, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    467
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    2,937
    Level
    12

    Re: MOSFET Gets Hot in H Bridge

    I need a 300 Khz AC square wave output.



  15. #15
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 3,116, Level: 13
    baileychic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    622
    Helped
    49 / 49
    Points
    3,116
    Level
    13

    Re: MOSFET Gets Hot in H Bridge

    Here it is a quick circuit that I made. Not sure if 8-bit PIC can generate 300 kHz PWM. Maybe you need dsPIC to generate a 300 kHz PWM (complementary) to drive the FET drivers.

    I have a few more questions.

    Can you tell me more about the load? What is the actual load? because you might not even need a H-Bridge to drive the load.

    If you just need a 24V DC square wave that varies between 0V and 24V ther you just need a single mosfet to drive the inductive load.

    Or do you want a square wave varying between +24V and -24V?



  16. #16
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,937, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    467
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    2,937
    Level
    12

    Re: MOSFET Gets Hot in H Bridge

    Quote Originally Posted by baileychic View Post
    Here it is a quick circuit that I made. Not sure if 8-bit PIC can generate 300 kHz PWM. Maybe you need dsPIC to generate a 300 kHz PWM (complementary) to drive the FET drivers.

    I have a few more questions.

    Can you tell me more about the load? What is the actual load? because you might not even need a H-Bridge to drive the load.

    If you just need a 24V DC square wave that varies between 0V and 24V ther you just need a single mosfet to drive the inductive load.

    Or do you want a square wave varying between +24V and -24V?
    Its a pure inductive load ( Insulated copper winding on copper pipe)with max current consumption of 6 Amps.
    I need +24V and -24V



  17. #17
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 3,116, Level: 13
    baileychic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    622
    Helped
    49 / 49
    Points
    3,116
    Level
    13

    Re: MOSFET Gets Hot in H Bridge

    From your circuit in post #1 you use 24V DC and 0V as GND and so I thought the output signal varies between 0V and 24V.

    Edit:

    My circuit works for your requirement if the GND connection in the Full-Bridge circuit is replaced with -24.0V power supply.

    Build the circuit on PCB with proper track widths for the Load Connections and test it.

    I only tested with 300 Hz and 3 kHz in Proteus because PWM frequency above it overloads the simulation and simulation runs very slow.

    You need a oscilloscope to check the output signal with first a resistive load to confirm output signal quality.

    - - - Updated - - -

    The output voltage is not going up to +24V. It is somewhere near 18V. Not sure why.
    Last edited by baileychic; 22nd August 2019 at 20:38.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  18. #18
    Super Moderator
    Points: 259,307, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    45,273
    Helped
    13774 / 13774
    Points
    259,307
    Level
    100

    Re: MOSFET Gets Hot in H Bridge

    The output voltage is not going up to +24V. It is somewhere near 18V. Not sure why.
    Unsuitable high gate series resistors. Use 10 to 50 ohms for smooth turn-on.


    1 members found this post helpful.

  19. #19
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 3,116, Level: 13
    baileychic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    622
    Helped
    49 / 49
    Points
    3,116
    Level
    13

    Re: MOSFET Gets Hot in H Bridge

    That was a mistake. I changed them to 10R but the output voltage goes to max 9V now.

    HOx and LOx voltgaes are fine and they are 36V and 12V respectively.

    HOx = 24V + 12V = 36V and LOx = 12V same as VCC of IR2112.

    What is causing the output high voltage to drop by 4V?

    - - - Updated - - -

    No, I had measured HOx and LOx voltages when Bridge was connected between +24V and GND.

    When Bridge is connected between +24V and -24V the HOx voltage is 44V and LOx voltage is 12V.
    Last edited by baileychic; 22nd August 2019 at 23:34.



  20. #20
    Super Moderator
    Points: 77,099, Level: 67
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,620
    Helped
    3559 / 3559
    Points
    77,099
    Level
    67

    Re: MOSFET Gets Hot in H Bridge

    Hi,

    I recommend to increase the value of C1, C4 to be at least the value of C2, C5.

    Imagine: every time when the bootstrap capacitors C2, C5 are charged, the energy needs to come from C1, C4.
    Thus the voltage of C1, C2 will immediately drop to the value of C2, C5 .... then the rest of the enery needs to come from the supply, but this is slow, because of stray inductance .. causing relatively high impedance.

    Especially at high duty cycles the bootstrap capacitors are discharged for a long time, but they are charged within a short time.
    Expect high voltage ripple at C1/C4, and the bootstrap capacitors maybe are not charged fully. This also may explain your low output voltage at high side.

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.


    1 members found this post helpful.

--[[ ]]--