+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 109, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    5
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    109
    Level
    1

    200 amp power supply

    I need to build 200Amp- 50 Volt dc power supply. can someone guide me through for starting. PS i have phase connection and plug port is rated for Amps per phase

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 14,504, Level: 29
    schmitt trigger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2,414
    Helped
    784 / 784
    Points
    14,504
    Level
    29

    Re: 200 amp power supply

    10 kilowatts. That is some serious power.
    Do you require it to be voltage regulated? Current regulated? Or both?

    Another question, how much electronics experience have you got?
    My batteries are recharged by "Helpful Post" ratings.
    If you feel that I've helped you, please indicate it as a Helpful Post


    1 members found this post helpful.

  3. #3
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 16,347, Level: 30

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    2,993
    Helped
    727 / 727
    Points
    16,347
    Level
    30

    Re: 200 amp power supply

    Quote Originally Posted by archit6586 View Post
    PS i have phase connection and plug port is rated for Amps per phase
    The numbers are missing: do you mean your lab/ work place has three phase connection at 220V 50A power connection?

    Any idea where this power will be going? For a welding station?

    Please provide more relevant details.


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 8,909, Level: 22

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    1,427
    Helped
    528 / 528
    Points
    8,909
    Level
    22

    Re: 200 amp power supply

    Easiest way is to go buy some RST-5000 power supplies from Meanwell, 2 x the 48V 100A variant - and run them in parallel, 3ph + N + E required for input.

    Can be controlled via pins on the connectors - or just let them run - volt adj pot on the back. You can get these for < US $ 1000.00 ea.

    230/400 Vac 3 phase wiring requires 17A per phase from your building supply.

    Other way is to get some large mains transformers designed 5kVA each and design a 3 phase SCR control ( or buy one of the shelf) put some SCR's ( and diodes for half controlled) on a good size heatsink with fans, get out the spanners, wire up and go - a bit heavier and likely more expensive - but rugged and very long lasting and > 95% re-recyclable ...

    Some quite large caps required on the o/p for low ripple - unless you employ 2 x 100A o/p chokes to aid in the filtering ...


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  5. #5
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 109, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    5
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    109
    Level
    1

    Re: 200 amp power supply

    yes both voltage and current regulated. Also, I dont have much experience but I am willing to do it anyway. No other option

    - - - Updated - - -

    My work place is rated for 32 A 220V per phase



  6. #6
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 3,516, Level: 13

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    390
    Helped
    159 / 159
    Points
    3,516
    Level
    13

    Re: 200 amp power supply

    Single phase rectifier would not work because your phase power will be 7KW only.
    So three phase rectifier required

    https://www.eevblog.com/forum/beginn...utput-voltage/

    For DC to DC converter you should go with isolated (It is more complex at this power)
    You have another option, step down 220V 3phase to 60V 3phase by three phase transformer(Two three phase transformer with 6KW) and rectify to DC then you will get 60V@200A source. Then use interleaved DC to DC converter



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  7. #7
    Full Member level 1
    Points: 2,292, Level: 11
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    116
    Helped
    33 / 33
    Points
    2,292
    Level
    11

    Re: 200 amp power supply

    You can go for a 3 Phase step down transformer with isolation and six pulse charger. It will be rugged and simple if you are not much concerned about the input PF.



  8. #8
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 20,451, Level: 34
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3,360
    Helped
    1197 / 1197
    Points
    20,451
    Level
    34

    Re: 200 amp power supply

    Quote Originally Posted by archit6586 View Post
    yes both voltage and current regulated. Also, I dont have much experience but I am willing to do it anyway. No other option

    - - - Updated - - -

    My work place is rated for 32 A 220V per phase
    Any particular reason you want to build your own instead of buying something off the shelf? The latter option will likely be much cheaper...



  9. #9
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 14,504, Level: 29
    schmitt trigger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2,414
    Helped
    784 / 784
    Points
    14,504
    Level
    29

    Re: 200 amp power supply

    I was also going to suggest the iron transformer plus brute force filtering, but the OP has indicated that he requires a REGULATED SUPPLY.

    This is absolutely not a beginner project. Therefore and echoing other posters:
    My recommendation would then be to purchase a catalog supply.



  10. #10
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 8,909, Level: 22

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    1,427
    Helped
    528 / 528
    Points
    8,909
    Level
    22

    Re: 200 amp power supply

    If you wire the primaries of the Copper/Steel solution with 3 ph and a neutral you can use Triacs to control the pri current, and have diodes on the output - regulation can be achieved this way - however - an off the shelf psu (or two) would be the easier path...



  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Points: 74,710, Level: 66
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,158
    Helped
    3448 / 3448
    Points
    74,710
    Level
    66

    Re: 200 amp power supply

    Hi,

    you can use Triacs to control the pri current
    Usually this is not allowed in this range of power.

    Additionally this needs a careful design to avoid DC in the primamry winding.

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  12. #12
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 8,909, Level: 22

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    1,427
    Helped
    528 / 528
    Points
    8,909
    Level
    22

    Re: 200 amp power supply

    Um, "not allowed" by whom..? Santa Claus - you are right however about the DC - < 5mA in the neutral for earth stake corrosion reasons - however this can be controlled - even on large triacs, or back to back SCR's or IGBT's emitter linked as an AC switch ...


    1 members found this post helpful.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Points: 74,710, Level: 66
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,158
    Helped
    3448 / 3448
    Points
    74,710
    Level
    66

    Re: 200 amp power supply

    Hi,

    Um, "not allowed" by whom..?
    DIN EN 61000-3-2
    DIN EN 61000-3-12
    for example.

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.


    1 members found this post helpful.

  14. #14
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 8,909, Level: 22

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    1,427
    Helped
    528 / 528
    Points
    8,909
    Level
    22

    Re: 200 amp power supply

    As you are above 16A per phase - those do not apply ....


    1 members found this post helpful.

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Points: 74,710, Level: 66
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,158
    Helped
    3448 / 3448
    Points
    74,710
    Level
    66

    Re: 200 amp power supply

    Hi,

    I never used it, thus I may be wrong: I thought EN 61000-3-12 applies for currents 16A ... 75A.

    Klaus

    Added, from internet search:
    EN 61000-2-2 for currents > 75A
    EN 61000-2-4 for currents > 75A (industrial)
    EN 50160 in general

    My idea: Generally the claim for clean mains voltages makes restrictions necessary.
    Whatīs behind an idea to allow "big" power consumers to create overtones without limit?
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



  16. #16
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 8,909, Level: 22

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    1,427
    Helped
    528 / 528
    Points
    8,909
    Level
    22

    Re: 200 amp power supply

    61000-3-12 limits are outside the requirement in this case.

    It is, perhaps unfortunately, the prerogative of large consumers that need to convert AC to DC to draw fairly bad harmonics - as they often have their own 11lV or 33kV supply and on site xfmrs - they do not unduly interfere with other users - they usually pay for the kVAr's they draw too ...



--[[ ]]--