+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 309, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    13
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    309
    Level
    3

    Thickness of FR-4 substrate

    Hello,
    I work with patch antenna at 33 GHz, it is possible to use a thickness= 7.04 for FR-4 substrate or it is so much?
    Thank you in advance.

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 10,505, Level: 24

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    1,647
    Helped
    655 / 655
    Points
    10,505
    Level
    24

    Re: Thickness of FR-4 substrate

    FR4 is very lossy (high loss tangent), your antenna will be very inefficient with FR4.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  3. #3
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 2,685, Level: 12
    SLK001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Coral Springs, Florida
    Posts
    375
    Helped
    136 / 136
    Points
    2,685
    Level
    12

    Re: Thickness of FR-4 substrate

    Very bad idea. Also, in addition to the loss tangent, the dielectric constant isn't that well controlled by the manufacturer. Look into using one of Roger's substrates, or even a custom alumina substrate.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Member level 4
    Points: 2,761, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    74
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    2,761
    Level
    12

    Re: Thickness of FR-4 substrate

    Bad idea.

    1. u could not get the exact valune of the dielectric constant of FR4 at 33GHz.

    2. At 33GHz, loss tangent of FR4 is very large.
    Last edited by joshuacp; 5th April 2017 at 09:47.



--[[ ]]--