Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Generating 2 clock pulses in VHDL

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrMuffins

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Although I have completed a university course in digital logic, I am new to VHDL design and I am hoping if someone can help me create 2 clock signals which depend on the state of one another.

I am using a 50 MHz clock on a DE2-115 FPGA board that is used to create a 5MHz clock (named dclk) and a second clock named dload which is triggered after 8 dclk cycles. There is a pause (both clocks are 0) between the 8 dclk cycles and the rising edge of dload and another pause after the falling edge of dload and the start of a new set of 8 dclk cycles. I posted the datasheet with a picture of the two clocks and their requirements.

datasheet of the 2 clocks:

My attempt:

Code:
library ieee;
use ieee.std_logic_1164.all;
use ieee.numeric_std.all;

entity comp_dclk is
generic(
    dclk_interval : integer := 20
);
port(
    clk :   in std_logic;           --reference clock, which is 50MHz
    start   :   in std_logic;           --dload starts dclk
    dclk    :   out std_logic;          --desired dclk, 50MHz/20 = 2.5MHz, 20 clk cycles = 1 dclk cycle
    dload :     out std_logic
);
end comp_dclk;

architecture behaviour of comp_dclk is

signal counter          : integer range 0 to dclk_interval := 0;
    signal dclk_counter : integer range 0 to 8 := 0;
    signal start_dclk       : std_logic := '0'; 
    signal dclk_done_flg : std_logic := '1';

begin

--0.4 us per dclk cycle
--0.4*7+0.2 = 3us 
--8 dclk cycles last 3us
--