+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 38, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    6
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    38
    Level
    1

    I/O functions in Digilent DIO5 board and its connection to VIRTEX-II pro board

    I am student of IIT kanpur and a novice in VLSI/ EDA.

    I have reached a dead end in my project because I cannot use the DIO5 board and my FPGA board does not contain enough input output ports for me to debug my logic.

    I have read the user manual of the DIGILENT DIO5 board,. but could not make much sense out of it. The FPGA board which I am using is VIRTEX-II pro development board.

    So, can anyone help me here..... In accepting the input from the DIO5 board, processing it in FPGA and the output being displayed again on the DIO5 board.

    Any basic example--- even glowing an LED on DIO5 using its switches will work

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 8,202, Level: 21
    Achievements:
    7 years registered Created Blog entry
    dpaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,221
    Helped
    267 / 267
    Points
    8,202
    Level
    21
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: I/O functions in Digilent DIO5 board and its connection to VIRTEX-II pro board

    See first of all you have to be very specific in this forum and clear about your stand.

    I have reached a dead end in my project because I cannot use the DIO5 board and my FPGA board does not contain enough input output ports for me to debug my logic.
    Here you are drawing a conclusion, which means you have understood stuff.

    I have read the user manual of the DIGILENT DIO5 board,. but could not make much sense out of it.
    Here again you say that you have not understood things!

    So for any help you need to go to specifics.

    Any basic example--- even glowing an LED on DIO5 using its switches will work.
    An extensive Google search might help, also look into GitHub projects.

    btw - https://reference.digilentinc.com/_m...o5/dio5_rm.pdf
    In pg 16, "Appendix 1. Default CPLD configuration" is an eg project!
    FPGA enthusiast!



  3. #3
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 38, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    6
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    38
    Level
    1

    Re: I/O functions in Digilent DIO5 board and its connection to VIRTEX-II pro board

    it would be much helpful if you could provide me with an example



  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Points: 254,978, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    44,431
    Helped
    13528 / 13528
    Points
    254,978
    Level
    100

    Re: I/O functions in Digilent DIO5 board and its connection to VIRTEX-II pro board

    According to user manual, the default CPLD is designed to interface the DIO5 board as a memory mapped peripheral in a bus, usually by a soft processor. If your design is pure HDL without a soft processor, it's till possible to use the bus interface, otherwise you would have to design redesign the CPLD.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  5. #5
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 38, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    6
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    38
    Level
    1

    Re: I/O functions in Digilent DIO5 board and its connection to VIRTEX-II pro board

    suppose I just will to implement a counter but the output should be on the DIO5 LEDs and the clock should be provided by the Virtex-II board ... then can you give me a code of the constraints to be used



  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 30,467, Level: 42
    ads-ee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7,009
    Helped
    1675 / 1675
    Points
    30,467
    Level
    42

    Re: I/O functions in Digilent DIO5 board and its connection to VIRTEX-II pro board

    Quote Originally Posted by shobhitsriv View Post
    I am student .... and a novice in VLSI/ EDA.
    Okay, that's where a lot of people start out.

    Quote Originally Posted by shobhitsriv View Post
    Any basic example--- even glowing an LED on DIO5 using its switches will work
    Quote Originally Posted by shobhitsriv View Post
    it would be much helpful if you could provide me with an example
    Quote Originally Posted by shobhitsriv View Post
    then can you give me a code of the constraints to be used
    ...but you seem to be only interested in having someone else write some code for you. This forum isn't a free consulting web site.

    If you want someone to write the code for you then post in the Jobs section or hire someone through guru.com or a similar site.

    If instead, you want to learn something then first try to come up with a design, show what you've tried and ask for suggestions to improve or do things differently. This means in this particular case, what you are trying to build, how you split the design across the two boards, the functions each board will have to do, and the interfaces used between boards.

    Or you can keep asking someone write the code for you and get ignored.



  7. #7
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 38, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    6
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    38
    Level
    1

    Re: I/O functions in Digilent DIO5 board and its connection to VIRTEX-II pro board

    I have tried the connections myself for a longtime and still couldn't get any result so that's why I wished if someone could give an example.

    Anyways, the main purpose of the DIO5 board is to provide the inputs and get the outputs processed by virtex 2 pro board.

    What I could gather from their user manual was that the SW1 switch of DIO5 is connected to pin 11 of P1 connector.
    Which must go to pin 29 of J6 (not sure how were the pins numbered so tried with pin 11 also) of virtex board.(assuming a straight connection between the two boards).Now, pin 29 is W6. And the LED on the virtex board is AC4. So I wote this verilog code

    Code Verilog - [expand]
    1
    2
    3
    
    module led (input in,output out);
          assign out=in;
    endmodule;

    And the UCF file was
    Code:
    NET "out" LOC="AC4";
    NET "in" LOC="W6";
    but this gave no satisfactory output..



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Points: 30,467, Level: 42
    ads-ee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7,009
    Helped
    1675 / 1675
    Points
    30,467
    Level
    42

    Re: I/O functions in Digilent DIO5 board and its connection to VIRTEX-II pro board

    What is the Virtex II Pro board (there is more than one board out there called a VIIP development board).



  9. #9
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 38, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    6
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    38
    Level
    1

    Re: I/O functions in Digilent DIO5 board and its connection to VIRTEX-II pro board

    Sorry!! I wasn't aware that there were multiple boards by the same name.
    Mine is Virtex 2 pro development board
    XUPV2P.



--[[ ]]--