Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Repairing a Flat screen tv (viore lc26v58)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Enzy

Advanced Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am not a pro at electronics but I like to attempt fixing anything I can.

I got this TV to check from a friend at first there was no power, I pulled it and checked the power supply board had 7 visible bad capacitors on it, so I got the replacements and changed them and also changed 2 others that was close by, upon testing the other components like diodes and transistors I haven't found any to be bad. I assembled the tv and applied power and it has a double pole switch that I have to turn on first which send power to the power supply and the stand by light comes on, then it has a push button as another power button for the TV to turn on after pushing the push button the standby (red light) turns green but the screen doesn't turn on. On the connector that connects to the screen it should a 24v but when I test the voltage across it the most I get is 4.8 volts probably 5v the most as the voltage drops the longer its there until it goes to zero volts.

I Am now assuming the power supply is still at fault so I am trying to find the issue, so checking the ferrite core transformer which should be stepping down the voltage, I was doing a resistance test across the legs for the primary legs all legs give me a direct short even when the PCB doesn't connect them, and the same thing for the secondary legs all legs give a dead short, across the primary and secondary it doesn't short out though I get a high resistance like 8.3m ohms.