Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

metallic spherical resonator coupled between microstrip lines HFSS

Status
Not open for further replies.

davwin29

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm new to HFSS as well as new to microstrips and resonators, however i've been learning fast. My project is to basically design a metallic spherical resonator that is coupled between two microstrip lines. I was unable to find any journal papers that closely resemble this design, since most were based on dielectric resonators. I have built my designs in HFSS and simulated them but was unable to gain a resonant frequency(s) for the metallic sphere from the results. I have attached my HFSS models for anyone willing to help.

I have hit a dead end and don't know where to go from here. Any help that anyone can give me will be much appreciated.

Attachments

• Microstrip_Sphere_FlatLines.hfss.doc
    103.8 KB · Views: 70
  • Microstrip_Sphere_V2.hfss.doc
    126.4 KB · Views: 72

I've seen circular ring resonators but not spherical. Are you sure that's what you want? How do you plan on fabricating the sphere or keeping it in place?
1. You should define integration lines to your ports from center of line straight down to ground.
2. interpolating sweep from .5-100GHz with solution frequency of 20GHz may miss any resonances
3. There are no E fields inside a closed metal sphere, so no internal modes to resonate. Any modes would then be on the surface so best bet would be where half of the circumeference is lambda/2.
4. box is much larger than it needs to be which increases size and time to run.