Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

uln burning out on connecting a solenoid valve

Status
Not open for further replies.

avirajose

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hai,

This is my first project with motors so i'm not well much familiar with its operations and feedbacks

i'm designing pcb to control the flow from a solenoid valve. I used a microcontroller, a relay and other related components. Everything works fine without solenoid valve.

But on connecting the solenoid valve, the uln gets heated up.
I connected the diode across the solenoid valve but it was in vain..
should i go for an relay...is there any other option to exclude relay

I have few doubts.........
what all precuations should be taken on connecting a solenoid valve with microcontroller?
what are the other methods to drive a solenoid valve with microcontroller?
Should a pwm signal should be used to drive solenoid valve?

Last edited:

What is the supply voltage of the solenoid?
What is the coil resistance of the solenoid?
How much current is drawn by the solenoid when it is turned on?
Can the device driving the solenoid switch such current and not be overloaded?

How large is the current running through that ULN? ULN meaning ULN2008 or something? You should ofcourse stay within the max ratings of the IC. You can parallel these things for more current. You can use a heatsink. And you can always ditch the ULN and use a MOSFET instead. ;)