Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Why 6mm clearance from Bluetooth Module Antenna ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ne0z

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, I am just wondering why for all bluetooth modules that has a ceramic antenna there is a 6mm clearance from all metallic objects (traces, planes etc) ?

I'm not an RF expert so it would be great if you gurus out there can shed some light on how this magic number 6mm was obtained.

In addition, if there was a ground plane underneath the antenna, what would happen ?

Hello,

Large metal constructions close and perpendicular to the antenna construction causes the impedance (as seen by the RF module) to change significantly. This results in less radiated power. The reflected field from the metal tends to cancel the radiation from the antenna.

"6mm" is not a special number. Very likely that some manufacturer published a datasheet where it mentions this minimum distance. If something does function, others will copy it. A quarter wave whip antenna 6mm from large metal surface will result in significant degradation of radiated power (if the antenna is not specially designed for that situation).

You can optimize an antenna so that it functions close to metal, but when (distance to metal) < 0.1lambda, it becomes more difficult to design an antenna that can easily be integrated into products.