Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to learn the BUS architecture(PCI, PCI Express, AMBA...)

Status
Not open for further replies.

sweesw

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I know nothing about how a bus transaction is handled.
I wish to learn it from scatch, for example, what means master, what means slave, etc.
Could anyone share some ideas what and where I can start with?
What book I should read to understand it if I have no previous experience?

Re: how to learn the BUS architecture(PCI, PCI Express, AMBA

Hi sweesw:

You can read the bus spec which you wanna study, and you will know

what the Master, Slave and something like this meaning!

wang1

if you know nothing about pci, then the spec may be a little too difficult to understand. start with mindshare books. they have books both on pci-x and pci express. There books also include a tutorial cd to make it easier to understand the standard.

Hi
sweesw!
I think you should read the spec first,and there's a
very good book <pci system architecture> that will
help you very well!
zhpy

Hi, to start bus architecture...i think mindshares books are very good..they have complite explanation

Actually, it sounds like OP needs to learn the basics of computer IO subsystems. You should probably read a Computer Organization book and only then go on to the mindshare books.

Actually , for AMBA system bus study, the best way is read its spec that you can download from the arm website.

The protocol of the bus is important . if you know the protocol . you can understand the architecture.