Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

metal layer and base layer

Status
Not open for further replies.

deba_fire

Full Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone,

I just started learning layout.And I came across these jargons like metal layer tapeout and base layer tape out.I understand about the metal layer where we do interconnections among different cells.But what does base layer mean?And when taping out a chip which layer is taped out first,is there a priority?

Please help me in knowing these terms.If there some sort of tutorial on this please guide me to that.

Thanks everyone

Metal layer tapeout and base layer tape out - never heard of such wording. Tape out includes all production layers, there's no layer priority re. tape out.

Layer numbers could stand for something like priority, but this concerns only the layer representation on a 2D-display: higher layer numbers cover lower layer numbers.

Base layers are the layers which are laid out on silicon substrate. Ex: active layer, NWELL layer, etc. In process base layers are taped out first and then metal layers.

Hi dinesh,

Tape out is the design base delivery to the foundry, so it includes all layers without any priority.
You are right, however, with the timely order of the layers during processing.

Rgds, erikl

You should already have a rough understanding of what metal and base layers are. The key point is that base layers comprise the highest precision masks (read expensive). As such, designers often park redundant circuits that could be activated simply via a metal change.