+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Full Member level 4
    Points: 2,935, Level: 12

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    227
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    2,935
    Level
    12

    poly pour

    Hi Guys

    I am trying to use poly pour option in altium designer for gnd plane. In the design rules i have set rules for power plane connect style as relief connect. But it shows as a solid plane only. It is connect as a direct connect option.

    The strange thing is that when i create a new pcb and pour a ploy on it. It connects as mentioned in reliefconnect rule. But it dosnt do it to the exsisting pcb which is completely routed.

    Can any one pls help in fixing this problem.
    Thanks in advance
    tama.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 7,815, Level: 21
    buenos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sunnyvale, California, USA
    Posts
    953
    Helped
    41 / 41
    Points
    7,815
    Level
    21

    altium designer 6.7 다운

    ground PLANE-layer, or just copper pour on a signal layer?

    is there a wrong rule in the design rules? or maybe you have 2 rules for plane connect, but bot of them are assigned for "all nets"



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 6,603, Level: 19

    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    EARTH
    Posts
    347
    Helped
    669 / 669
    Points
    6,603
    Level
    19

    Re: problems with Poly pour in altium designer 6.7

    There is seperate rule for polygons and planes in altium tool.

    You need to set the polygon rule for copper pours.

    :F



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Full Member level 4
    Points: 2,935, Level: 12

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    227
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    2,935
    Level
    12

    Re: problems with Poly pour in altium designer 6.7

    Hi
    I have attached sample files to give a better idea about the problem.

    Thanks
    tama



  5. #5
    Full Member level 2
    Points: 5,998, Level: 18
    dindeds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    135
    Helped
    15 / 15
    Points
    5,998
    Level
    18

    Re: problems with Poly pour in altium designer 6.7

    Frosty is right.



  6. #6
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 7,815, Level: 21
    buenos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sunnyvale, California, USA
    Posts
    953
    Helped
    41 / 41
    Points
    7,815
    Level
    21

    problems with Poly pour in @ltium designer 6.7

    ok, i see its NOT A PLANE.

    maybe you are using a solid rectangle, which is not a polygon-por. rectangles are always directly short circuit everything.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  7. #7
    Full Member level 4
    Points: 2,935, Level: 12

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    227
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    2,935
    Level
    12

    Re: problems with Poly pour in altium designer 6.7

    Hi Buenos

    No its actually a ploy pour only. I used the option for polygon pour inside place menu.
    the thing is that there is a clearance rule for all ( in electrical design rules) as well and when i increase the clearance rule the polys get connected using thermal relief.
    I dont get this when there is a rule for polygon connect style then how come the electrical clearance has to anything with it.

    Have you guys faced similar problems....

    thanks
    tama



  8. #8
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 15,672, Level: 30

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,371
    Helped
    412 / 412
    Points
    15,672
    Level
    30

    Re: problems with Poly pour in altium designer 6.7

    You probably set the clearance rule scope as "All" - "All". Polygons fall into the "All" category, so the rule is applied to the distance between the polygon and the pads/vias.

    Note that the polygon connect style rules don't have a setting for the gap in the thermal - the electrical clearance rule establishes the gap.



--[[ ]]--