Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Mixed Signal Design in 0.35um technology - Questions and Concerns

Status
Not open for further replies.

ja2bo2t

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi All,

I'm in the middle of a mixed-signal design project using the TSMC 0.35um 2P4M process. I've done some chip layouts in 0.5um before during undergrad, but this is my first time using 0.35um. I have a few questions and concerns:

1. I've created some custom digital standard cells to do the limited digital logic that we have (just thought it would be easier). In filling in the extra space I've added decoupling PIP capacitors in between the rails (see attachment). Will the large continuous amount of Poly1 (shown in blue) cause problems with the gate poly nearby? Some of the larger empty areas are up to 400um x 400um; I'm concerned that the resolution of the gate poly on the edges of these large capacitive regions will be reduced.
  2. I have read in many places that using double vias throughout the design can increase yield in smaller technologies. Is 0.35um small enough to worry about connection problems for single vias on digital connections (whether they are metal to metal, metal to poly, or metal to diffusion)?
  3. I have also read that using minimum width and spacing for metal routing can cause yield issues for long traces. I have been using 0.6um width/0.65um spacing (design rule minimums are 0.6um width/0.5um spacing) for traces up to ~5000um in digital busses (see attached); will this cause problems in 0.35um?