Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Wrong measurement in dual-band power amplifier

Status
Not open for further replies.

dangan1993

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone. I am a PHD student.
Currently, I try to design a dual band power amplifier at 1.4 and 3.5 GHz using CGH40006P transistor. I have gone to the last step of measurement with circuit shown in the attached picture, but my circuit just works well at 1.3 GHz and no gain appears in the high band. I see that my circuit has no problems in fabrication and just contains little lumped components as DC and bypass capacitors. Can someone give me recommendations to check as well as fix the problem. Thank you very much.

Attachments

• BDAEC3FB-F299-4979-953A-964D2C600E3F.jpeg
    BDAEC3FB-F299-4979-953A-964D2C600E3F.jpeg
    400.4 KB · Views: 125

Have you ever simulated this circuit in EM simulator? Can you share the results with us??
How could you separate the bands?

Just looking to your PCB layout, I don't understand why you have different widths for the 50 ohms transmission lines.
OK, if a microstrip line is thinner than its width for 50 ohms, the line will behave as an inductance, but I don't think this was your intention in this design.

How good is the radial stub decoupling of supply lines at 1.4 and 3.5 GHz?
Layout looks like a narrowband solution, but these two frequencies are far apart.

As already pointed out in post #2, more detail are required to answer you question. For instance how did you designed the matching network, what about the substrate, ecc.