Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Why is 28 Transistor CMOS Design widely used in the industry?

mgowda45

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am a student trying to understand

1.)why 28 Transistor CMOS design used everywhere?

2.) why isn’t TSPC Register used instead of MUX based flip flop?

I mean the conventional 28T Adder design. IMG_4630.jpeg

The conventional flip flop design is attached below,
IMG_4631.jpeg

The TSPC D Flipflop design,
IMG_4632.jpeg

Thank you,
mgowda45

28nm is just about fully bottomed out in cost, finer nodes
still have yield learning to do and more expensive equipment
yet to amortize. And as you go shorter-channel, analog keeps
getting crappier. Like I saw op amps in GF14 which had AVOL
of 40dB or slightly less, and the outfit that did them was all
happy about that. Looked like junk to me.

There's a lot for which non-leading/bleeding edge technology
can be used. Sometimes you're better off.

Last edited:
Is the TSPC 'flop the same as the "dynamic DFF"? Sure
looks similar. Seen them used in prescalers where a regular
'flop won't self-toggle fast enough. Real easy to upset them
if you're -not- running fast, though. There is no positive
feedback storage mechanism, just parasitics holding charge
they were or weren't given. For a while.

US6737900B1

There are other issues with dynamic flops and there are other similar designs. The main one is they eventually loose the data. So you need to constantly refresh or change the value.