Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What does using 0.13 CMOS technology mean?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hackson

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hcmos9

I am a novice in analog circuit design. I usually heard of people saying that they are using like 0.13 micron technology...what does that mean?

CMOS technology

The minumum channel length of the transistor

CMOS technology

L = 0.13um in W/L

Re: CMOS technology

this is a minimum channel lenght of the transistor

micel99 said:
L = 0.13um in W/L

I think the size L=0.13um often used in digtial circuit,in a analog(or mix ic) circuit the L of mos often > .13um.

For digital design, these ever smaller dimensions/technologies apply. Analog has been stuck on L around 1-2 um for a long time. Problem with .13 um or smaller technology in analog design is that short channel effect (2nd order effect) begin to emerge and things get a lot messier when you sit down and design. Models and assumption made in analog are no longer valid.

CMOS technology

For o.5um/0.35um opamp design, I am taught to choose L>1um. I am wondering if it is ok to use a smaller L in 0.13um or 0.11 cmos technology design?

CMOS technology

the channel length.it may be the most small mask size.

I think that it is referred to the minimal line width in a photolithographic process

That's the minimal feature dimension.

Because now there is almost no pure analog circuit, so the narrower length can be used for the digital circuit use , and the narrower length process has lower Vth for lower power design.