Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

what are the methods of analog circuit design?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mehdi12

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all
I learned digital circuit design. First I should get truth table and then get the equations of the circuit,
but I didn't find the methods of analog circuit design like I did in digital circuit.

Hi all
I learned digital circuit design. First I should get truth table and then get the equations of the circuit,
but I didn't find the methods of analog circuit design like I did in digital circuit.

All my life I was an analog system designer, quite successful. I do not remember I needed more than Ohm¨s Law for my designs. What analog circuits do you plan to design?

For a static analysis of analog signals of a more complex circuit having linear components, you could use for example Kirchoff law (KCL), Nodal Analysis (MNA), etc...

Also, you must know the frequency dependency of reactive components: Xl = 2*pi*f*L Xc = 1/2*pi*f*C
And that those reactances, the inductor has an angle of +90 degrees (or j) and the capacitor an angle of -90 degrees (or -j).

Also calculate time constants: tau = L/R, tau = C*R

There are methods within methods and what you do
depends on what specialty you're working in and the
product.

Learn by doing is a way to go. Worked for me. I went
to analog by way of interface products that gave me
a series of bite-sized challenges / experiences. Still
go at it by gut more than head. There's room in this
world for equation-mongers and shade tree mechanics
both.