Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Wantinng to learn microcontrollers and have questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

jbs87

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
learn micro controllers

I want to learn PIC microcontrollers and am a complete newbie. I know a bit of C and digital electronics but that's about it.

In terms of book to learn micontrollers, is there any that focus on C and that are beginner friendly? is there any on Amazon youw ould recommend https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_...s=pic+microcontroller&x=0&y=0&sprefix=pic+mic

And as for the microcontroller kit, I am thinking of the PICKIT 1 or 2 not sure what the difference between the 2 is: https://www.microchipdirect.com/Pro...icrochip&Category=Starter Kits&mid=1&treeid=6 Good idea or bad? I don't want to solder anything. If you have any other recommendations, I would be glad to hear them.

Regards,
Joshua Sebastian

Hello!

Before buying a board, you may need to think about what you want to do with it.
To be frank, I don't know about PICs. Other makers also provide cheap kits,
but the problem is that you might be limited to applications like blinking a LED.
That's good, but you may be frustrated quickly.

Some ideas:
- How many digital I/Os do you need?
- How many UARTs / I2C
- Do you need a microcontroller with integrated USB?
- Do you need analog inputs? If yes how many?
- Do you need analog outputs?
- Do you need an LCD? Character? Graphic?

Etc... Once you replied to these questions, check the specs.

Dora.

jbs87 said: