Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

visual basic code for MCU to pc serial port connection ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

agnivesh

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
how to write program c for mcu en pc

I'm a beginner in mcu programming and want to write a simple visual basic application to interact with pic micro-controllers via pc serial port.

for that, I think, I need mscomms32.ocx in vb 6 (pro) compiler. I don't have visual studio 6 but I have access to visual studio.net. Can I use vb.net compiler to make that simple application just like vb 6 compiler ?

( I've heared that If I use vb .net then my application will run only if the pc has .net framework installed on it, but I want my application to be as simple as possible and portable to almost all windows os).

Please, explain me how can I write that application using .net studio or otherwise tell me about any open source compiler like visual basic, available for such applications.

thanx in advance
agnivesh

controlling mcu with serial port

this topic has been discussed a number of times so a simple search would be helpful. anyway the following links might be of help to you

http://www.rentron.com/sending_data.htm
http://www.rentron.com/receiving_data.htm

i havent worked with .net but i believe that VB.net is backwards compatible with VB6 so i think you can use the mscomm control in VB.net like you do in VB6.