Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Using MOSFET as a switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

polmin

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello, I'm new to the analog design world and I have some dumb questions about using a transistor as a switch in the circuit below.

for the NMOS, the transistor will act as a closed circuit if the gate-to-source voltage is higher than its threshold voltage. When it is the case, it will "pass" the source voltage to its output and we will be having -1V at the output of the circuit. But since the transistor won't be acting a perfect switch, there must be a voltage drop accros the mosfet which will lower the value of our output right? How is it possible to quantify this voltage drop?

And in terms of current, what current will be crossing the transistor?
1647801149152.png

Thank you.

Hi,

As you wrote: To make the NMOS conductive V_gs needs to be higher than the V_gs_th.
It needs to be a couple if volts higher. The datasheet tells you details.

The voltage drop V_DS depends on the current. If the High side FET is OFF, then there is about zero current, thus about zero voltage drop.
When there is current at the output, then this will determine the voltage drop ... according Ohm's law using R_ds_on.

Your headline talks about "switch" which means "digital" operation. Either ON or OFF.
But in the text you talk about "analog" design. Not "switching".

Klaus

The voltage drop on a MOSFET is Vds=Rdson*I, where Rdson is a MOSFET resistance in ON state, and I is the current.