Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Small Signals and Large Signals Terminology: Models and Amplifiers

Status
Not open for further replies.

anubhavsingh244

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am studying microelectronics. I recently got confused about about the small signal models and large signal models. After reading an extensive list of sources, I have come up with some pointers which I want to verify that I have got right.

The term "small signal" can refer two things : small signal amplifier and small signal model/analysis. A small signal model is not the same thing as a small signal amplifier. The same thing can be said about the term "large signal". However both small and large signals are ac signals, and they are large or small with respect to the quiescent or operating point established by the dc bias circuit obtained using DC modeling in both large and small signal amplifier analysis.

Both large and small signal models can be used to model the non linear devices like diodes and transistors( which are operated as amplifiers in active region). The transistor amplifiers are used as voltage or current amplifiers when used as small signal amplifiers and the transistor amplifiers are used as power amplifiers when used as large signal amplifiers.

The small signal amplifier is an amplifier when the applied (AC) input is small with respect to the DC operating point on the DC load line. This type of amplifier uses small signal modeling for its ac analysis. Small signal modeling involved linearizing the non-linear circuit elements at the dc operating point.