Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Photodiode Fast detection !!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

chippevijaya

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Dear friends,
I am new to photodiodes and their usage, please some one will solve my problem,

I am using the PIN photodiode and avalanche photodiode in photovoltaic(zero bias) modes. But i am unable to get the pulse of 50ns (sending from the laser).
I am sending the 50ns pulse from laser and the APD is placed at the 10cm distance. But the output of the APD is in 10us to 60us varying pulse to pulse.
I have observed one thing that the rise time of the APD response is very sharp(<5ns) but the falling is taking very slow till 10us.
Both APD and PIN diodes are having 1ns rise and fall times, so it has to rise and fall with 50ns pulse with exact timing, but why it is not happening.

How are you using an APD with zero bias? Normally they would be reverse biased with 100-300V otherwise there is no point. If you want speed then you need to reverse bias your PIN as well. The other requirement for speed is a low impedance load - either resistor or transimpedance amplifier. For checking lasers a simple PIN with 47 ohm resistor and PP3 battery to reverse bias it with 9V works well.

Keith

Avalanche operation with zero bias is like mountaineering on the sea. Good luck! :smile:

Besides specified bias, a suitable load, e.g. 50 ohm resistor (passive) or TIA (active), is required.

Dear friends,